Sarah Geronimo bags six awards in MYX Music Awards 2009

Sarah Geronimo went onstage six times to receive her awards in last night's MYX Music Awards 2009. She bagged the honors: Favorite MYX Celebrity VJ, Favorite Remake ("A Very Special Love"), Favorite Mellow Video ("A Very Special Love"), Favorite Media Soundtrack ("A Very Special Love"), Favorite Female Artist, and Favorite Artist.

It was Sarah Geronimo's night as she took home six awards in last night's MYX Music Awards 2009.

The You Changed My Life star went home with the following awards: Favorite MYX Celebrity VJ, Favorite Remake ("A Very Special Love"), Favorite Mellow Video ("A Very Special Love"), Favorite Media Soundtrack ("A Very Special Love"), Favorite Female Artist, and Favorite Artist.

Sarah's fans, the Popsters, were in full force as they screamed for their idol every time her name was called and as she went onstage to receive her awards.

Pokwang, one of the presenters that night even cracked a joke at Sarah: "Sana dinala mo na rin yung lalagyan mo ng trophy sa bahay!" (click here to see the video)

Sarah was pitted against top musicians and artists such as KC Concepcion, Kim Chiu and Gerald Anderson, The Dawn, Ogie Alcasid, Regine Velasquez, Rico Blanco, Callalily, Sponge Cola, and Sandwich in the said categories.

Last year, she took home four awards from the four-year-old award-giving body.

The MYX Music Awards is a yearly event started by the MYX Music Channel in 2006 to honor the biggest hitmakers in the local music business. MYX viewers from all over the Philippines decide on the winners of the awards and send in their votes through texting. Last night, the presentation of the awards took place at the Meralco Theater in Pasig City. Top personalities from the music, television, and movie industries attended the event.

Program performers last night were: Julianne, Maychelle Baay of Moonstar 88, Macoy Fundales of Kenyo, Nyoy Volante, Aiza Seguerra, Francis Reyes of the Dawn, and Louie Talan of Razorback, Kyla, Jay-R, Sugarfree, Bamboo, Sarah Geronimo and Chicosci.


Presenters of the awards were: Precious Adona and Jet Pangan of the Dawn, Regine Angeles and NiƱa Jose, Lovi Poe and Kean Cipriano of Callalily, Geneva Cruz and Jeffrey Hidalgo, Candy Pangilinan and Baron Geisler, Vice Ganda and Pokwang, Krista Ranillo and Yael Uson, Meryll Soriano and Ping Medina, Jon Avila and Enchong Dee, Dingdong Avanzado and Jessa Zaragoza, Ogie Alcasid, Dennis Trillo, and Lea Salonga.

Young belter Charice Pempengco and Journey's new frontman Arnel Pineda were given the MYX Special Citation awards for giving honor to the Philippines by their world-class performances. Both Charice and Arnel were discovered in the video sharing website YouTube, and have since made their presence felt in the international music scene. Arnel went onstage to receive the award, while Charice was represented by Star Records managing director Annabelle Regalado.

Legendary Pinoy Rock band The Eraserheads was also honored with the MYX Magna Award for their exceptional contribution to the Philippine music industry. The band's drummer Raimund Marasigan received the award in behalf of his bandmates Ely Buendia, Marcus Adoro and Buddy Zabala who were not present at the affair. Raimund (or Raims) also hosts MYX Channel's Myx Tugtugan. He is also a member of the bands Sandwich, Pedicab, Project 1 and Gaijin.

Here is the list of the other awardees:

Favorite MYX Bandarito Performance: Astrojuan

Favorite MYX Live Performance: Imago

Favorite International Music Video: "Crush" by David Archuleta

Favorite Collaboration: Christian Bautista and Sitti for "Captured"

Favorite Guest Appearance in A Music Video: Karylle ("Only Hope" by Gary Valenciano)


Favorite Indie Artist: Paraluman

Favorite New Artist: Rico Blanco

Favorite Rock Video: "Ang Pusa Mo" by Pedicab

Favorite Urban Video: "Shake That Thing" by Dannie Boi featuring Beatmox

Favorite Group: 6cyclemind

Favorite Male Artist: Erik Santos

Favorite Song: "Betamax" by Sandwich

Favorite Music Video: "Procrastinator" by Sandwich

Catch the premiere airing date of the 4th MYX Music Awards on March 1, Sunday, with its complete coverage starting at 8:30 pm with the Red Carpet Special, 9:00 pm for the MYX Music Awards 2009 and at 11:30 pm for the post-event and after party.

Just tune in to MYX on Skycable Channel 23 and log on to MYX.TV for updates on the MYX Music Awards 2009.





Loading comments