Regine Velasquez and Sarah Geronimo win in the 1st Star Awards for Music

"Natutuwa ako and after all these years may mga tao pa rin na happy to see me," Regine Velasquez (right) commented about the fans who gave her their full support during the first Star Awards for Music of PMPC last night, October 29, at the Sky Dome, SM North EDSA in Quezon City. She and Sarah Geronimo (left) vied for the Best Female Pop Artist of the Year and Female Recording Artist of the Year.

Asia's Songbird Regine Velasquez did not expect to win an award in the first Star Awards for Music of the Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC), held last night, October 29, at the Sky Dome, SM North EDSA in Quezon City.

In her speech after receiving the Best Female Recording Artist of the Year award, Regine said, "Okay na sa akin 'yong tinanggap ko ang awards para kay Ogie."

She was referring to the two awards she received on behalf of her boyfriend Ogie Alcasid, who is currently in Japan with the Bubble Gang cast and crew. Ogie won as Best Male Recording Artist of the Year while his song "Ikaw ang Pangarap" was named Song of the Year.

"I'm very happy and very thankful, of course. Siyempre, I'm so proud of my honey," said Regine, whose album Low Key also got an award for Best Revival Album of the Year (a tie with Rachelle Ann Go's Falling in Love).


She added, "Hindi ko ine-expect. I thought I was just gonna sing for the finale that's why I came late. Kasi, they told me na sa finale na lang ako and diyan lang naman ako, that's why I came late."

POP ARTIST AWARD. Pop Princess Sarah Geronimo told PEP that she had mixed emotions when she found out that she would be competing against some of her idols—like Regine, Lea Salonga, and Lani Misalucha—for the Female Pop Artist of the Year category.

When her name was called as the winner, Sarah dedicated her award to these lady icons in local music industry during her acceptance speech.

"Nanghihina nga ang tuhod ko, e. Siyempre, halu-halo na ang emotions mo, nahihiya ka. Pero siyempre, sobrang thankful. Siyempre, sine-share ko talaga ang award na ito sa mga hinahangaan kong singers, like si Ms. Regine, Ms. Lani, and Ms. Lea," said Sarah.


LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD. PMPC gave its first Lifetime Achievement Award to the popular trio of Apo Hiking Society. Danny Javier and Jimmy Paredes accepted the award, sans Boboy Garovillo who was at a taping of his current TV project.

The award was presented by Claire dela Fuente and German Moreno, who also announced the inclusion of the group in the Walk of Fame Philippines at the Central Plaza of Eastwood City in Libis, Quezon City.

Before this presentation, singers Richard Poon, Jay-R, and Jed Madela serenaded the audience with a medley of Apo Hiking Society's hit songs like "Kabilugan ng Buwan," "Pumapatak na Naman ang Ulan," and "Panalangin."

THE PARTICIPANTS. Other singers who performed in between the awardings were Allan K with SexBomb Dancers, Rachelle Ann Go, and Jolina Magdangal.

Dingdong Avanzado also performed his song "Panahon Na Upang Tayo'y Magkaisa," which he composed in connection with the recent calamity caused by typhoons Ondoy and Pepeng. He was joined by other local music artists like Jan Nieto, Chris Cayzer, Geoff Taylor, Eva Castillo, Faith Cuneta, and Laarni Lozada.


The presenters of the awards included Regine Tolentino, Ayen Munji Laurel, Edgar Allan Guzman, Nikki Bacolod, Joel Cruz, and Gerard Santos. Music groups like La Diva (composed of Aicelle Santos, Maricris Garcia, and Jonalyn Viray), Mocha, and Retrospect were also invited to present awards to the winners.

The program was hosted by Best RnB Artist of the Year winner Billy Crawford and Nesvita Beautiful Awardee Toni Gonzaga.

CLICK HERE for the complete list of winners.





Loading comments