Manny Pacquiao wins Fighter of the Year trophy at the ESPY Awards

Pound-for-pound king Manny Pacquiao won his second Fighter of the Year award at the 19th ESPY Awards held at Nokia Theater in Los Angeles, California.

Filipino boxer and Sarangani congressman Manny Pacquiao was named Fighter of the Year at the 19th ESPY Awards held last July 13 (U.S. time) at the Nokia Theater in Los Angeles, California.

The ESPY Award (short for Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly Award) is an accolade presented by American cable television network ESPN to recognize individual and team athletic achievement and other sports-related performance.

This is the second ESPY trophy for Pacquiao; he first won the award in 2009.

Pacquiao’s competitors this year include Bernard Hopkins, Jon "Bones" Jones, Sergio Martinez, Manny Pacquiao, and George St. Pierre.

The current pound-for-pound king has won eight weight division titles, has ten world titles, and a record four lineal world championships in weight classes.

Pacquiao was not able to personally accept his award since he is currently busy with his political career in the Philippines and his upcoming game show on GMA-7, Manny Many Prizes.

Some of the celebrities who attended this year’s ESPY Awards include Justin Bieber, Jason Bateman, Emmanuelle Chriqui, Brooklyn Decker, Chris Evans, Cee Lo Green, Jimmie Johnson, Kevin Love, Rachel Nichols, Danica Patrick, Ryan Reynolds, Aaron Rodgers, Amar’e Stoudemire, Justin Timberlake, and Serena Williams.

The awards night was hosted by Saturday Night Live’s Seth Myers.

The list of winners in the 19th ESPY Awards:

Male Athlete: Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks

Female Athlete: Lindsey Vonn, skiing

Team: Dallas Mavericks

Coach-Manager: Rick Carlisle, Dallas Mavericks

Breakthrough Athlete: Blake Griffin, Los Angeles Clippers

Game: Eagles rally to beat the Giants, 38-31

Record-breaking Performance: Rory McIlroy

Championship Performance: Tim Thomas, Boston Bruins

Play: Abby Wambach, U.S. women’s national team

Moment: Roy Halladay’s playoff no-hitter against the Cincinnati Reds

Upset: Virginia Commonwealth men’s NCAA basketball tourney Sports

Movie: The Fighter

Male College Athlete: Jimmer Fredette

BYU Basketball Female College Athlete: Maya Moore, Connecticut basketball


Male Action Sport Athlete: Shaun White, skateboarding/snowboading

Female Action Sport Athlete: Stephanie Gilmore, surfing

Baseball Player: Roy Halladay, Philadelphia

NBA Player: Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas

WNBA Player: Diana Taurasi, Phoenix Mercury

NHL Player: Tim Thomas, Boston

MLS Player: Landon Donovan, Los Angeles Galaxy

Bowler: Jason Belmonte

Driver: Jimmie Johnson

Fighter: Manny Pacquiao

Male Golfer: Rory McIlroy

Female Golfer: Cristie Kerr

Jockey: John Velasquez

Male Tennis Player: Rafael Nadal

Female Tennis Player: Serena Williams

Track and Field Athlete: Tyson Gay

Male Athlete with a Disability: Anthony Robles, wrestling

Female Athlete with a Disability: Mallory Weggemann, swimming

NFL Strongest Performance: Arian Foster, Houston Texans

Comeback: Mark Herzlich

College Athletic Programs: Stanford Women’s Athletics and Florida Men’s Athletics Arthur Ashe Courage Award: Dewey Bozella, boxing

JIMMY V ESPY for Perseverance: Anthony Robles, wrestling





Loading comments