The PEP List Year 2: Kris Aquino and Vice Ganda named TV Stars of the Year; DongYan, KimXi, KathNiel topped PEPsters’ Choice

Kris Aquino and Vice Ganda received the highest honors at The PEP List Year 2. The two Kapamilya stars were named TV Stars of the Year at the glittery awards night held this Thursday, June 18, at the Grand Ballroom of Solaire Resort & Casino.

Kapamilya stars Kris Aquino and Vice Ganda topped the Editors' Choice category of The PEP List Year 2.

The winners, as the category suggests, were chosen by the editors and staff of PEP among the nominees for each category.

Kris was named Female TV Star of the Year while Vice was adjudged Male TV Star of the Year, proving their supremacy and influence on Philippine television.

In 2014, Kris hosted three shows on ABS-CBN: the morning lifestyle-talk show Kris TV, the nightly showbiz-oriented show Aquino & Abunda Tonight, and the now-defunct weekly showbiz talk show The Buzz.

Vice, on the other hand, has two successful shows: the daily noontime show It's Showtime and the Sunday night comedy-talk show Gandang Gabi Vice.

Meanwhile, Kapuso stars Jennylyn Mercado and Gabby Eigenmann were the Editors' Choice for Teleserye Actress and Actor of the Year, respectively.

Jennylyn won for her performance as a woman who has a mulitple personality disorder in the primetime series Rhodora X, while Gabby was honored for his gay-dad role in Dading.


Dading, an afternoon series aired on GMA Network last year, was also awarded Daytime Series of the Year.

ABS-CBN's The Legal Wife—which starred Angel Locsin, Jericho Rosales, and Maja Salvador—was named Primetime Series of the Year.

TV5's The Amazing Race Philippines Season 2, hosted by Derek Ramsay, took home the award for Variety/Talk Show of the Year.

Derek's revealing interview with the PEP staff picked up the prize for Best PEPtalk.

Viva heartthrob James Reid was the Editors' Choice for Breakout Star of the Year; thanks to his successful team-up with Nadine Lustre, blockbuster movies, endorsements, and hit songs last year.

PEP also honored its staff and contributors by giving out special awards for the top performers.

Rose Garcia (1st), Rommel Gonzales (2nd), and Glenn Regondola and Gorgy Rula (3rd) were named PEP Contributors of the Year; Sany Chua was chosen as PEP Photographer of the Year; and Arniel Serato was the top choice for PEP Reporter of the Year.


Kapamilya stars Nash Aguas and Alexa Ilacad received a special award from Hooq, Most Promising Stars.

PEPSTERS' CHOICE. Aside from the Editors' Choice category, The PEP List Year 2 also handed awards chosen by the PEP readers or the PEPsters' Choice via online and text votes.

Kapamilya loveteam Kim Chiu and Xian Lim dominated this category taking home several awards.

Aside from being chosen as Celebrity Pair of the Year, Kim was also named Female Movie Star of the Year and Female FAB Star of the year; while Xian won Male FAB Star of the Year.

Teen King Daniel Padilla, on the other hand, was the PEPsters' Choice for Male Movie Star of the Year; his on- and off-screen partner and Teen Queen Kathryn Bernardo topped the Female Teen Star of the Year category.

The Voice Kids winner Lyca Gairanod was named Child Star of the Year, while her runner-up Darren Espanto won Male Teen Star of the Year.


Finally, Kapuso royal couple Dingdong Dantes and Marian Rivera, who tied the knot last december 30, 2014, topped the poll for Newsmaker of the Year.

The glittery awards ceremony of The PEP List Year 2 was held Thursday night, June 18, at the Grand Ballroom of Solaire Resort & Casino, along Aseana Avenue, Parañaque City.

It was hosted by Ogie Alcasid, Janno Gibbs, and Alice Dixson.

The PEP List Year 2 was presented by SM Shoes and Bags, Solaire Resort and Casino, and Hooq.

Special thanks to Crystal Catx, Devant, Kleenex, Kotex, Hunts Pork and Beans, Nissin Cup Noodles, Novuhair, Shanpelino, The Write Impression, Luxent Hotel, and official media Partners YES! Magazine,,, Good Housekeeping, Smart Parenting, Female Network, and Globaltronics.


Loading comments