Gawad Tanglaw will confer the Best Picture award to three films released in 2009: In My Life (top frame), Lola (middle frame) and Dukot (bottom frame). In My Life starred John Lloyd Cruz, Luis Manzano and Vilma Santos while Lola was topbilled by Anita Linda and Rustica Carpio. Allan Dizon played an activist tortured by the military in Dukot. Photo: Allan Sancon (Luis, Vilma, John Lloyd)

Gawad TANGLAW has chosen three films as the Best Films of 2009, one of them is a mainstream film while the two others are independent productions. The family drama In My Life, the internationally recognized film Lola and the socio-political film Dukot all have the right to be called the Kapuri-puring Pelikula ng Taon for 2009.

Two personalities will be given posthumuos awards this year: the Lifetime Achievement Award will be awarded to the late Inday Badiday while the Gawad TANGLAW ng Pelikulang Pilipino will be conferred to the late Rudy Fernandez.

Meanwhile, the acting talents of Coco Martin and Zaijian "Santino" Jaranilla are recognized with the Presidential Jury Award for Excellence in Acting and Natatanging Gawad TANGLAW para sa Sining ng Telebisyon, respectively.    

Last year, GMA-7 and ABS-CBN tied for Best Stations of the Year but this time, the Kapamilya Network  

Composed of members of the academe from various universities, Gawad Tanglaw has been coming out with its honors list annually. The Gawad Tagapuring mga Akademik ng Aninong Gumagalaw will hold its awards night will take place on March 3, 2010 at Jose Rizal University.

Here is the list of winners of the 8th  edition of Gawad Tanglaw:

2009 Gawad TANGLAW para sa Sining at Kultura


BEST FILMS                                        

  • 1. Lola
  • 2. Dukot
  • 3. In My Life


  • 1. Ms. Vilma Santos - In My Life


  • 1. Ms. Isabel Lopez - Kinatay
  • 2. Ms. Isabel Lopez - Tulak



  • 1. John Lloyd Cruz - In My Life
  • 2. Allen Dizon - Dukot


  • 1. Lius Manzano - In My Life
  • 2. Roderick Paulate - Dead na si Lolo


BEST DIRECTORS                                           

  • 1. Dante Mendoza - Lola
  • 2. Olivia Lamasan - In My Life
  • 3. Joel Lamangan - Dukot


  • 1. LOLA


  • 1. DUKOT



•1.      Mangatyanan - Pats R. Ranyo



•1.      I Love You Goodbye - Lee Meily

                                  TELEVISION ARTS

  • 1. Broadcast Network of the Year          ABS-CBN 
  • 2. Best Drama Series               Tayong Dalawa 
  • 3. Best News Program             TV Patrol World 
  • 4. Best Documentary Feature   Storyline (ANC)
    5. Best Game Show                  Talentadong Pinoy (ABC 5) 
  • 6. Best Comedy/Gag Show     Goin Bulilit, Banana Split 
  • 7. Best Variety Show               ASAP ' 09 
  • 8. Best Magazine Show          Rated K 
  • 9. Best Lifestyle Show            Sweet Life (QTV 11) and Executive Class (ANC) 
  • 10. Best Travel Show            Travel Time (ANC) 
  • 11. Best Sports Program       Sports Unlimited 
  • 12. Best Sports Anchors       Dyan Castillejo, Marc Nelson, Tommy Manotoc Jr. 
  • 13. Best News Anchor          Ted Failon, Karen Davila, Julius Babao, Vicky Morales 
  • 14. Best Entertainment Field Anchor         Mario Dumaual, Phoemela Baranda 
  • 15. Special Jury Award for Television        May Bukas Pa 
  • 16. Best Ensemble Performance in a Television Drama      
    Tayong Dalawa                                       Gerald Anderson, Kim Chiu, Coco Martin, Jake Cuenca, Agot Isidro,  Cherry Pie Picache,  Gina Pareño, Miguel Faustman, Jodi Sta Maria, Baron Geisler, Jiro Mañio, Ms. Anita Linda, Spanky Manikan, Ms. Helen Gamboa, Mylene Dizon, Alessandra de Rossi                                                                        
  • 17. Best Morning Show                      Umagang Kay Ganda 
  • 18. Best Morning Show Hosts            Rica Paralejo, Pinky Webb, Donita Rose, Anthony Taberna, Winnie Cordero, Edu Manzano, Bernadette Sembrano, Kim Atienza, Atom Araullo, Alex Santos, Ginger Conejero 
  • 19. Best Game Show Host                     Richard Gomez 
  • 20. Best Public Service Program        Wish Ko Lang, Salamat Dok!, Bantay OCW 
  • 21. Best Commentary Program           Kalye (ABS-CBN) 
  • 22. Best Investigative Report Program     XXX (ABS-CBN) and Bitag (UNTV) 
  • 23. Best Educational Program                 Matanglawin (ABS-CBN) and  Spoon (QTV 11) 
  • 24. Best Public Affairs Program              Strictly Politics (ANC) 
  • 25. Best Drama Anthology                     Maalaala Mo Kaya
  • 26. Best Christmas Station I.D                STAR NG PASKO (ABS-CBN) 
  • 27. Best T.V Ad                         Women Empowerment by MODESS 
  • 28. Best Movie Theatre                                 SHANG CINEPLEX 
  • 29. Best Development Communication     BOTO MO PATROL MO, AKO ANG SIMULA   

RADIO ARTS                                     

Best Radio Stations                 DZMM

                                                          YES FM 101.1 

Best AM Radio Anchors                  Korina Sanchez,  Rey Langit, Anthony Taberna

Best FM Radio Station                    YES FM 101.1

Best AM Radio Station                   DZMM

Best Radio DJ                                     Mr. Fu, Nicoleyala, Christuper



Best Play                                 TANGHALANG PILIPINO

Zsa Zsa Zaturna Ze Muzikal
Directed by: Chris Millado



Lifetime Achievement Award (Posthumous) Ms. Lourdes Carvajal (a.k.a) Inday Badiday 

Gawad TANGLAW ng Pelikulang Pilipino    Rudy Fernandez (Posthumous)                                                           

Presidential Jury Award for Excellence in Acting   Coco Martin

(Kinatay, Serbis, Masahista, Daybreak, Jay, Tirador and Tayong Dalawa)

Presidential Jury Award for Film Excellence           Dinig Sana Kita

Director: Mike Escareal Sandejas
Producer: Mike Escareal Sandejas
Lead Actors: Romalito Mallari, Zoe Sandejas