The Gina Pareño (in photo) starrer, Kubrador, continues to reap honors and citations. Its latest win locally is Best Picture from the Catholic Mass Media Awards. Photo: Noel Orsal

Kubrador bagged the Best Picture Award in the 29th Catholic Mass Media Awards (CMMA) held last Thursday, October 25. This indie movie features three days in the life of a jueteng bet collector played by Gina Pareño. This MLR Films production was previously hailed as Best Picture during the 30th Gawad Urian Awards night.

The CMMA took place at the Marie Eugenie Theater, Assumption College, in San Lorenzo Village, Makati City.

The two rival networks both received a total of seven awards and citations from the award-giving body. The CMMA chairman this year is Manila Archbishop Gaudencio Cardinal Rosales.

GMA-7 took home Best News Program for 24 Oras, which is hosted by Mike Enriquez and Mel Tiangco. Another Mel Tiangco show, Magpakailanman, was named Best Drama Series/Program.

The Kapuso network's election special program Philippine Agenda was cited as Best Adult Educational/Cultural Program. A special citation was given to Sa Isang Boto Ko-Teacher for Best TV Public Service Advertisement.

Vicky Morales's Wish Ko Lang! was Best Public Service Program. Best Children's Program went to Mga Kuwento ni Lola Basyang.

Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho was Best News Magazine Program, in a tie with ABS-CBN's The Correspondents. The Best Talk Show went to Media In Focus, shown on the Kapamilya Network's sister cable channel ANC.

ABS-CBN's Sa Kambas ng Lipunan was adjudged Best TV Special. Sharon was named the Best Entertainment Program for this year. The funny gang at Goin' Bulilit got the Best Comedy Program. Special citations were given to Super Inggo as Best Drama Series/Program and to regional station, ABS-CBN Bacolod for Amiga.

The CMMA gives out rock trophies to honor the country's best values-oriented work in student communications, radio, print, television, cinema, music, the Internet and advertising.

Manila Archbishop Gaudencio Cardinal Rosales and Foreign Affairs Secretary Alberto Romulo were among the guest speakers.

Below is the complete list of winners in the Television, Music, and Radio categories:


Best Drama Program

Maalala Mo Kaya sa DZMM, DZMM Radyo Patrol 630

Best News Commentary

no winner

Best News Program

Radyo Patrol Alas Onse Y Media, DZMM Radyo Patrol 630

Best Public Service Program

Sugpuin ang Korupsyon, DZRH-MBC

Best Educational Program

Sulyap Kultura, PBS-BBS DZRB 738 Radyo ng Bayan

Best Entertainment Program

Wan Dey Isang Araw, DZAS AM 702 Khz