Actress Judy Ann Santos (left) and Director Joey Reyes (right) have more reasons to celebrate this Christmas season as they win Best Actress and Best Director, respectively, for their movie Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo in the 25th Luna Award of Film Academy of the Philippines. The awards night is scheduled tonight, December 27, at the Club Filipino in San Juan City.

Photo: Noel Orsal


Unlike in past years, the Film Academy of the Philippines (FAP) has announced the winner of the silver anniversary presentation of the Luna Award before the actual awards night. Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo of Star Cinema won six out of 12 major awards.


According to FAP Director General Leo G. Martinez, the Academy has decided to reveal the winners before the awards night itself, which will be held tonight at the Club Filipino in San Juan City.


Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo, the topgrossing movie in the 2006 Metro Manila Film Festival, was proclaimed Best Picture. It also won in several other categories—Best Director (Jose Javier Reyes), Best Actress (Judy Ann Santos), Best Supporting Actress (Gina Pareño), Best Screenplay (Jose Javier Reyes and Mary Ann Bautista), and Best Editing (Vito Cajili).


John Lloyd Cruz was awarded Best Actor for All About Love while Johnny Delgado won Best Supporting Actor for the action movie Ligalig. Jay Linao won for Best Cinematography and Chito Sumera, Best Production Designer, for Eternity, topbilled by Dingdong Dantes and Iza Calzado. Angie Reyes of Till I Met You won for Best Sound and Vincent de Jesus, for Best Musical Score in the fantasy movie ZsaZsa Zaturnnah Ze Moveeh.


Aside from the 12 major awards, FAP will also hand out special awards to six prominent film personalities.


The FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award will be given to actor-producer Rudy Fernandez and writer-director Celso Ad. Castillo. ABS-CBN's Charo Santos-Concio and Solar Entertainmen's Wilson Y. Tieng will receive the Manuel de Leon Award for their exemplary achievements. The Lamberto Avellana Memorial Award will be given posthumously to Manuel Conde and Vic Silayan.