(Top, from left) Paolo Bediones of Survivor Philippines, Michael V of Bubble Gang, and Edu Manzano of Pilipinas, Game KNB? (Bottom) Joey de Leon and Mel Tiangco of Mel & Joey, and Henry Omaga-Diaz, Korina Sanchez and Ces Drilon of Bandila. These Filipino shows are nominated in different categories for the 14th Asian TV Awards this December.

Photo: File photos

Inilabas na ng Asian TV Awards (ATA) committee ang opisyal na listahan ng mga nominado sa gaganaping 14th Asian TV Awards this December.

Out of the 33 categories at stake in this year's 14th Asian TV Awards in Singapore—21 for Programming, six (6) for Performance, and four (4) for Technical and Creative including the coveted Terrestrial Channel of the Year and Cable/Satellite Channel of the Year—eight (8) entries from the Philippines made it as nominees.

Ang mga categories na ito'y Best News Programme, Best Current Affairs Programme, Best Entertainment (One-off/Annual) Special, Best Entertainment Programme, Best Game or Quiz Programme, Best Adaptation of an Existing Format, at Best Comedy Performance by an Actor/Actress.

GMA-7 and rival station ABS-CBN each got three nominations, at tig-iisa naman ang Solar Entertainment/SBN at ang sister station ng GMA-7 na QTV 11.

Sa Programming category, pumasok bilang nominee as Best News Programme ang coverage ng "EDSA Shootout" ng Bandila (Banner Story/The Flag) ng ABS-CBN. Nominado naman sa Best Current Affairs Programme ang I Survived ng ABS-CBN.

Pumasok sa kategoryang Best Entertainment (One-Off/Annual) Special ang The Pursuit of Style: A Young Designers Special ng QTV Channel 11, sister channel ng GMA-7.

GMA-7's Mel and Joey, hosted by Mel Tiangco and Joey de Leon, ay pumasok naman sa kategoryang Best Entertainment Programme.

Para sa Best Game or Quiz Programme category, pumasok ang Pilipinas: Game KNB? (Philippines: Are You Game?) ng ABS-CBN. 

Dalawang programa mula sa Pilipinas ang pumasok sa kategoryang Best Adaptation of an Existing Format. Ito ay ang Project Runway Philippines ng Solar Entertainment Corporation at Survivor Philippines (Episode 1) ng GMA-7.

Sa performance category, tanging si Michael V ang Pinoy na nabigyan ng recognition sa 14th Asian TV Awards sa Best Comedy Performance by an Actor/Actress para sa Bubble Gang, which failed to get a nomination this year. Matatandaang taun-taon, laging nominado ang gag show na ito ng Kapuso network.

Last year, Ogie Alcasid (Bubble Gang) was given a "highly commended" recognition. Pinarangalan din last year ang Camera Café, aired over GMA- and QTV11 bilang Best Comedy Programme, at highly-commended naman ang Bubble Gang.

Michael V has won the Best Comedy Performance by an Actor award thrice in a row (2004, 2005 at 2006) at taun-taon ay nominado siya sa naturang kategorya. There was a time he bested Comedy King Dolphy (John En Shirley) for the award.

This year, walang pumasok na programa sa Technical & Creative categories. Hindi rin pumasok ang GMA at ABS-CBN sa Terrestrial Channel of the Year.

Sa 13th Asian TV Awards, GMA was given a highly commended ranking sa kategoryang Terrestrial Channel of the Year. It was won by GMA in 2004.