Aliw Awards 2016 winners revealed; Lea Salonga, Baste Duterte, among those honored

IMAGE From Instagram account of Noel Comia (Lea and Noel) / Instagram of indaysaraduterte (Baste) / From F

Aliw Awards 2016 Entertainer of the Year Lea Salonga (leftmost) is photographed with Best Child Performer Noel Comia Jr. Demie Fresco (middle) was named as Best New Female Artist while Baste Duterte was chosen as Best New Male Artist.

Lea Salonga was named as Entertainer of the Year in the 29th Annual Aliw Awards.

The coach of The Voice of the Philippines also earned the Aliw Award for Best Major Concert (Foreign Venue).

The Broadway star personally accepted her trophy during the awarding ceremony held at Dusit Thani Hotel in Makati City last November 30.

Among those who attended the awards night were Joanna Ampil (who won the Aliw Award for Best Actress-Musical), Gladys Reyes (who won the Aliw Award for Best Female Host), RJ Ledesma (who won the Aliw Award for Best Male Host), and Kitkat (who was named Best Actress in a Featured Role for Dirty Old Musical).

Sebastian "Baste" Duterte, the son of President Rodrigo Duterte, won the Best New Male Artist Award.

Demie Fresco, who previously joined The Voice PH Season 2, won the Aliw Award for Best New Female Artist.

Child performers Krystal Brimner and Isabeli Araneta Elizalde were hailed as Discoveries of the Year for the musical Annie.

The Bubble Gang boy group P.A.R.D. earned its first award as Best Crossover Performer in the group category.

Paolo Contis was unable to join Antonio Aquitania, Paolo Contis, Boy II Quizon, RJ Padilla, and Roadfill Sparks when they accepted the trophy.

In his Instagram account, Paolo posted: "Maraming salamat sa Aliw Awards at naniwala po kayo sa kaBaliwan namin... Congratulations to my brothers @boy2quizon_ @antonioaquitania @roadfillsparks and RJ ”

"I feel bad na di ko kayo nasamahan kahapon but I'm very excited sa mga plano natin para sa #PARD  abangan po ninyo ang bago naming kagaguhan soon!!!"

Meanwhile, the recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Awards were Shirley Halili Cruz, Anton Juan, Dante Balois, Len Ag Santos Siasoco and Cris Nicolas.

Other special awardees that night were the Sining Kambayoka of MSU (Mindanao State University), singer-turned-politician Darius Razon and thespian Carla Guevara Laforteza.

Halili Cruz Junior Ballet Company and Adelle Ibarrientos Lim earned the awards for Breakthrough Performances.

The Voice PH Season 1 grand winner Mitoy Yonting of The Draybers, Nonon Padilla, Dondi Ong, Camille Lopez Molina, and Angelos were inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Here are the winners of the 2016 Aliw Awards:

Best New Group Artist: Crib
Best Dance Company: Junior New System
Best Cultural Group: Singhay Dapitan
Best Festival Practices and Performance: Banbanti Festival of Isabela
Best Instrumentalist: Merjohn Lagaya
Best DJ for Electronic Dance Music: Jennifer Lee
Best Major Concert (Group): Metro Manila Concert Orchestra
Best Classical Dancer: Jessa Balote
Best Classical Performer (Male): Al Gatmaitan
Best Classical Performer (Female): Cynthia Guico
Best Crossover Performer (Group): P.A.R.D.
Best Production for Children: Si Ba-og at Unggoy (Singhay Dapitan)
Best Non-Musical Production: Happiness is a Pearl
Best Musical Production (foreign material): Annie
Best Original Musical Production: Katips, Mga Bagong Katipunero
Best Stage Director (Non-Musical): Ricardo Abad
Best Stage Director (Musical): Vince Tanada
Best Actress in a Featured Role: Kitkat
Best Actor in a Featured Role: Paul Jake Paule
Best Ensemble Performance: The Cast of Jersey Boys
Best Instrumentalist (Group): Drum & Lyre Ensemble of Gloria's Fantasyland in Dapitan
Best Performance in a New Concept Production: Gene Maglangit
Best New Concept Production: Joie de Vivre of Singhay Dapitan
Best Director for a New Concept Production: Peter Macrohon
Best Concert Stage Director: Floy Quintos
Best Musical Director: Jesse Lucas
Best Stand-Up Comedian: Jose Manalo
Best Female Host: Gladys Reyes
Best Male Host: RJ Ledesma
Best Stage Actor (Non-Musical): Leo Rialp
Best Stage Actress (Non-Musical): Pinky Amador
Best Actor (Musical) : Nyoy Volante
Best Actress (Musical): Joanna Ampil
Best Performer in Hotels, Bars and Restaurants: Aiza Seguerra
Best Group Performers in Hotels, Bars and Restaurants: Rockin’ 60s
Best Performance in a Concert: Jed Madela
Best Performance in a Concert (Female): Jessa Zaragoza
Best Collaboration in a Concert: Martin Nievera, Regine Velasquez, Angeline Quinto and Erik Santos for The Royals
Best Major Concert (Foreign Venue): Lea Salonga
Best Child Performer: Noel Comia Jr.
Best New Male Artist: Baste Duterte
Best New Female Artist: Demie Fresco
Best Crossover Performer and Best Major Concert: Gerphil Flores
Entertainer of the Year: Lea Salonga



Loading comments