MMFF 2014 winners revealed; Jennylyn Mercado and Derek Ramsay win top acting awards

Jennylyn Mercado (left frame) and Lotlot de Leon (lower right frame) cried when they received their awards for Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress, respectively, at the 40th Metro Manila Film Festival. Ryzza Mae Dizon (upper right frame) won the Best Child Performer award for My Big Bossing.

The awards night of the 40th Metro Manila Film Festival took place earlier tonight, December 27, at the PICC Plenary Hall.

Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo, biopic of national hero Andres Bonifacio starring Robin Padilla, received the most number of awards—a total of nine—including Best Picture.

The romantic-comedy film English Only, Please took home seven trophies, including Second Best Picture, Best Director, and top acting honors.

Meanwhile, the horror/adventure/comedy film Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles received six awards, including Third Best Picture.

The two actors who received acting recognitions were unable to personally receive their MMFF trophies earlier tonight.

Derek Ramsay was named as Best Actor for English Only, Please while his leading lady Jennylyn Mercado bagged the Best Actress trophy.

Jennylyn was seen crying backstage after she accepted her acting award for her role as a tutor in the romantic comedy film.

Joey Marquez was also unable to personally receive his award as Best Supporting Actor for his role in Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2.

Lotlot de Leon, his co-star in Kubot, was also moved to tears when she received the Best Supporting Actress award.


Since Vice Ganda's grandfather passed away last December 25, Edu Manzano was chosen to serve as the co-host of Kris Aquino during the MMFF 2014 Gabi ng Parangal.

Kris, the lead actress of Feng Shui, told the crowd that it was enough for her to know that her son Bimby was included in the list of nominees that night.

Her youngest son is part of the comedy film The Amazing Praybeyt Benjamin, which was the top-grossing film on Christmas Day, December 25.

(Read: Praybeyt Benjamin 2 tops in the box-office; MMFF 2014 entries bring in over P180 million)

"Bilang stage mother happy na ako na na-nominate si Bimby... pati mga nominations ng Feng Shui... okay na," commented Kris.

The founders of the MMFF and the New Wave category were also recognized during the awards night.

Former President Joseph Estrada received the Commemorative Award for Vision and Leadership as did MMFF and MMDA Chairman Francis Tolentino. The late Guillermo de Vega was also given a Memorial Award that was accepted by his wife Maria de Vega.

It will be recalled that in 1975, Joseph Estrada sought the help of the late Guillermo de Vega to create the Metro Manila Film Festival.


Here is the list of winners of the 40th Metro Manila Film Fest (2014):


Best Picture: Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo

Second Best Picture: English Only, Please

Third Best Picture: Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2

Best Actress: Jennylyn Mercado (English Only, Please)

Best Actor: Derek Ramsay (English Only, Please)

Best Director: Dan Villegas (English Only, Please)

Best Supporting Actress: Lotlot de Leon (Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2)

Best Supporting Actor: Joey Marquez (Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2)

Best Child Performer: Ryzza Mae Dizon (My Big Bossing)

Best Screenplay: Antoinette Jadaone (English Only, Please)

Best Original Story: Antoinette Jadaone and Dan Villegas (English Only, Please)

Best Editor: Marya Ignacio (English Only, Please)

Best Cinematographer: Carlo Mendoza (Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo)

Best Production Design: Erickson Navarro (Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2)

Best Visual Effects: Mothership (Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2)

Best Sound Engineer: Wild Sound (Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo)

Best Musical Score: Von de Guzman (Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo)


Best Theme Song: Von de Guzman (Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo)

Best Festival Make-up Artist: (Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2)

Gat Puno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award: Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo

FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence: Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo

Commemorative Award for Vision and Leadership: Joseph Estrada

Commemorative Award for Vision and Leadership: MMFF and MMDA Chairman Francis Tolentino

Guillermo de Vega Memorial Award (posthumous) - accepted by wife Maria de Vega

Celeb Face of the Night: Nadine Lustre

Best Float Award: Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo

Youth Choice Award: Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo


New Wave Best Picture: Magkakabaung

New Wave Best Supporting Actor: Kristoffer King (Maratabat Pride and Honor)

New Wave Best Supporting Actress: Gloria Sevilla (M Mother's Maiden Name)

New Wave Best Actress: Zsa Zsa Padilla (M Mother's Maiden Name)

New Wave Best Actor: Allen Dizon (Magkakabaung)

New Wave Best Film Director: Jason Paul Laxamana (Magkakabaung)

New Wave Special Jury Prize: M Mother's Maiden Name

New Wave Student Short Film Special Jury Prize: Kalaw

The mainstream entries of the 40th Metro Manila Film Fest entry are: Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo, English Only Please, Feng Shui 2, Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2, My Big Bossing, Muslim Magnum .357, The Amazing Praybeyt Benjamin and Shake Rattle and Roll XV.

(To learn more about the MMFF 2014 mainstream entries, CLICK HERE)

In the 5th edition of the MMFF New Wave category, the entries that competed were: Gemini directed by Ato Bautista; M. (Mother’s Maiden Name) directed by Zig Dulay; Magkakabaung directed by Jason Paul Laxamana; Maratabat directed by Arlyn dela Cruz and Mulat directed by Maria Diane Ventura.

(To learn more about the MMFF 2014 New Wave entries, CLICK HERE)






Loading comments