10,000 Hours dominates MMFF 2013; Robin Padilla and Maricel Soriano win top acting awards

by Jocelyn Dimaculangan
Dec 27, 2013
Robin Padilla (left) earned the Best Actor award for the Metro Manila Film Fest entry 10,000 Hours; Maricel Soriano (middle) won the Best Actress plum for Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy; and Ryzza Mae Dizon (right) was named Best Child Performer for My Little Bossings.

The action-drama film 10,000 Hours emerged as the Best Picture of the 39th Metro Manila Film Festival.

Starring Robin Padilla, this MMFF 2013 entry won majority of the trophies handed out earlier tonight, December 27, during the awards night held at the Meralco Theater.

Kris Aquino and KC Concepcion served as the hosts of the Gabi ng Parangal.

The 2nd Best Picture award went to the comedy film Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy, starring Vice Ganda as quadruplets.

The family comedy My Little Bossings was the recipient of the 3rd Best Picture award. Starring Vic Sotto and Kris Aquino, this film marks the movie debut of Kris's son, James "Bimby" Yap Jr.

Ryzza Mae Dizon, one of the lead stars of My Little Bossings, won the Best Child Performer award for this Marlon Rivera film. Receiving the award, the young TV host-actress told the crowd, "Merry Christmas! Mas lalo ko pong gagalingan!"

Continue reading below ↓

Robin Padilla was named MMFF 2013 Best Actor for 10,000 Hours, while Maricel Soriano was chosen MMFF 2013 Best Actress for Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy.

The Best Supporting Actress plum went to Aiza Seguerra for My Little Bossings, while the recognition for Best Supporting Actor went to Pen Medina for 10,000 Hours.

Boy Golden won the Best Float award in the 39th Metro Manila Film Festival. The said float had a vaudeville '60s theme and had a vintage car as part of its float design.

(To view photos of the floats that competed in MMFF 2013, CLICK HERE)

Daniel Padilla (of Pagpag, Siyam na Buhay) was hailed Male Star of The Night, while Kimmy Dora (Ang Kiyemeng Prequel) star Eugene Domingo was chosen Female Star of The Night.

Optical Media Board chairperson Ronnie Ricketts received a special recognition for his commendable efforts to fight piracy in the movie industry.

The 39th MMFF will run until January 7, 2014.

Continue reading below ↓

The eight official entries are: the action-drama 10,000 Hours; the action-period film Boy Golden: Shoot-To-Kill; the hip hop dance movie Kaleidoscope World; the family comedy My Little Bossings;

the comedy flick Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy; the comedy Kimmy Dora (Ang Kiyemeng Prequel); the horror film Pagpag, Siyam na Buhay; and the historical biopic Pedro Calungsod: Batang Martir.


Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award: 10,000 Hours

Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence: 10,000 Hours

Most Gender-Sensitive Film: Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy directed by Wenn Deramas (Main Category)

Youth's Choice Award winner: Pagpag, Siyam na Buhay

Best Theme Song: My Little Bossings

Best Child Performer: Ryzza Mae Dizon for My Little Bossings

Best Director: Joyce Bernal for 10,000 Hours

Best Story: 10,000 Hours

Best Screenplay: 10,000 Hours

Best Sound Engineering: Emmanuel Clemente for 10,000 Hours

Best Musical Score: Teresa Barrozo for 10,000 Hours

Best Makeup Artist: Pagpag, Siyam na Buhay

Best Visual Effects: Central Digital for 10,000 Hours

Best Production Design: Joey Luna for 10,000 Hours

Best Editing: 10,000 Hours

Best Cinematography: 10,000 Hours

Best Supporting Actor: Pen Medina for 10,000 Hours

Best Supporting Actress: Aiza Seguerra for My Little Bossings

Best Actor: Robin Padilla for 10,000 Hours

Best Actress: Maricel Soriano for Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy

3rd Best Picture: My Little Bossings

2nd Best Picture: Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy

Best Picture: 10,000 Hours

Continue reading below ↓

NEW WAVE CATEGORY. The MMFF 2013 New Wave Section features full-length indie films, animated films as well as student films.

The full-length entries that competed this year are: action thriller Saka Saka (starring Ejay Falcon and Joseph Marco as political assassins); family drama Anino ng mga Kahapon (starring Agot Isidro as a schizophrenia patient);

Island Dreams (starring Louise delos Reyes); Dukit (starring Kapampangan sculptor Wilfredo “Willy” Tadeo Layug), and Maestra (starring Perla Bautista).


Best Picture: Dukit

Best Director: Armando Lao for Dukit

Special Jury Prize: Mga Anino Ng Kahapon

Most Gender-Sensitive Film: Island Dreams directed by Aloy Adlawan

Most Gender-Sensitive Film (student film category): Hintayin Mo sa Seq. 24 directed by Jezreel Reyes

Best Actress: Agot Isidro for Mga Anino ng Kahapon

Best Actors: Wilfredo Layug, Bambalito Lacap, and Bor Ocampo for Dukit

Best Student Short Film Special Jury Prize: #NoFilter by Luigi Rosario

Best Animation (New Wave) Special Jury Prize: Ang Lalong ni Kulakog by Omar Aguilar

Best Animation (New Wave) Best Picture: Kaleh and Mbaki by Dennis Sebastian

Continue reading below ↓
Read Next
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
Robin Padilla (left) earned the Best Actor award for the Metro Manila Film Fest entry 10,000 Hours; Maricel Soriano (middle) won the Best Actress plum for Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy; and Ryzza Mae Dizon (right) was named Best Child Performer for My Little Bossings.
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the PEP.ph editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results