Watch Now

The winners of the Eddys 2019 are...

Dingdong Dantes and Kathryn Bernardo received the top acting awards at the Eddys 2019.
PHOTO/S: Noel Orsal

Dingdong Dantes was named as Best Actor while Kathryn Bernardo emerged as the Best Actress in the Eddy Awards 2019.

The Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd) handed out the trophies during the awarding ceremony held on July 14 at the New Frontier Theater.

The Eddy stands for Entertainment Editors' Choice Awards for Movies.

Dingdong earned the Best Actor award for his movie Sid and Aya.

He was able to beat fellow nominees Eddie Garcia (Rainbow’s Sunset), Piolo Pascual (Ang Panahon ng Halimaw), Carlo Aquino (Exes Baggage), Christian Bables (Signal Rock), Daniel Padilla (The Hows of Us), and Paolo Contis (Through Night & Day).

Kathryn was hailed as Best Actress for her performance in The Hows of Us.

She was able to beat Angelica Panganiban (Exes Baggage), Glaiza de Castro (Liway), Gloria Romero (Rainbow’s Sunset), Judy Ann Santos (Ang Dalawang Mrs. Reyes), Nadine Lustre (Never Not Love You), and Sarah Geronimo (Miss Granny).


At the start of the awards night, video clips of the movies of Eddie Garcia were shown on the big screen, prompting the audience at the New Frontier Theater to burst into applause. One of the most applauded moments was when Eddie received his award last year and shouted "Mabuhay ang mga Eddys!"

One of the editors of SPEED, Nestor Cuartero, talked about the difference of their award-giving body from the others.

In his opening remarks, Cuartero pointed out that organizers often tell the celebrities whether or not they will win awards in order to entice them to attend the awarding ceremony.

He said that even the editors of SPEED do not know who will win and they just find out on the day itself. He explained that they do this in order to maintain the integrity of the Eddy Awards.

Here are the winners of the 3rd Eddys Awards:


Lifetime Achievement Award - Elwood Perez

Best Film - Liway

Best Actor - Dingdong Dantes (Sid and Aya)

Best Actress - Kathryn Bernardo (The Hows of Us)

Best Supporting Actor - Arjo Atayde (BuyBust)

Best Supporting Actress - Max Collins (Citizen Jake)

Best Screenplay - Zig Dulay (Liway)

Best Director - Joel Lamangan (Rainbow Sunset)

Best in Cinematography - Yam Laranas (Aurora)

Best Editing - Chuck Gutierrez (Liway)

Best Sound - Bakwit Boys

Best Musical Score - Paulo Protacio (Bakwit Boys)

Best Original Theme Song - "Maybe The Night" by Ben and Ben (Exes Baggage)

Best Visual Effects - Gem Garcia & Ernest Villanueva (Aurora)

Best Production Design - Roy Lachica (Goyo: Ang Batang Heneral)

Beautederm Star of the Night - Lorna Tolentino

Manny Pichel Award - Ethel Ramos

Joe Quirino Award - Cristy Fermin

Rising Producers' Circle - Spring Films and T-Rex Entertainment

Producer of the Year - Star Cinema


Read Next
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
Dingdong Dantes and Kathryn Bernardo received the top acting awards at the Eddys 2019.
PHOTO/S: Noel Orsal
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results