Young Critics Circle winners revealed; Eula Valdes and Nonie Buencamino earn top acting awards

Apr 14, 2015

For the first time in the history of Young Critics Circle, no movie was chosen to win in the Best Film and Best Screenplay categories.

This was revealed by the award-giving body when it recently released the list of winners for the 25th edition of the Young Critics Circle.

In the Best Performance category, Dagitab lead stars Eula Valdes and Nonie Buencamino were chosen as the winners for playing university professors striving to revive their marriage on the verge of collapse.

Dagitab, a 2014 Cinemalaya entry, also bagged the award for Best Cinematography and Visual Design.

It also tied with two other movies for the Best First Feature award, which is given to the three most outstanding debut feature films (narrative, experimental, or documentary) of the year.

The YCC chose the following as winners in the Best First Feature category: Dagitab, Sonata Maria (a psychological drama-love story from Davao), and Nick and Chai (a documentary about a couple from Leyte who are trying to recover after they lost all their four children).

From 123 films released in 2014, the YCC trimmed down the list to seven films until they finally came up with a shortlist of five films.

The five shortlisted films were Dagitab, Mariquina, Sonata Maria, Nick and Chai as well as Sundalong Kanin.

The two other films included in the long list were Mana and Magkakabaung.

The awarding ceremony for the 2013 and 2014 winners will be held on April 23 at the University of the Philippines, Diliman, Quezon City.

Below is the full list of winners and nominees for all categories:


No winner and nominees


No winner and nominees


Winner: Eula Valdes and Nonie Buencamino, Dagitab (duo performance)


Nonie Buencamino, Dagitab

Krigi Hager, Sonata Maria

Bing Pimentel, Mariquina

Eula Valdes, Dagitab

Ensemble lead cast of Sundalong Kanin (Isaac Cain Aguirre, Nathaniel Britt, Elijah Canlas, and Akira Morishita)


Winner: Mariquina (Benjamin Tolentino)


Dagitab (Benjamin Tolentino)

Nick and Chai (Cha Escala and Bam Luneta)

Sonata Maria (Bagane Fiola)


Winner: Dagitab, Rommel Sales (cinematography) and Whammy Alcazaren and Tessa Tang (production design)


Mariquina, Sasha Palomares (cinematography) and Aped Santos (production design)

Sonata Maria, Wrap Meting and Mark Limbaga (cinematography) and Bagane Fiola, Orvil Bantayan, Mandy Velasco, Lulu Amorado, and Louie Daniel (production design)


Winner: Sonata Maria, Maki Serapio, Wrap Meting, and Mark Limbaga (production sound) and Jad Montenegro (music)


Dagitab, Adam Newns and Mikko Quizon (sound design) and Mon Espia (music)


Winners: Dagitab (Giancarlo Abrahan V)
Nick and Chai (Cha Escala and Wena Sanchez), and
Sonata Maria (Bagane Fiola)

Continue reading below ↓
Read Next
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results