Lou Veloso-starrer Da Dog Show named Best Film by Young Critics Circle

by James Patrick Anarcon
Apr 4, 2016
Da Dog Show was cited by the Young Critics Circle as its Best Film for 2015. Its lead actor Lou Veloso, on the other hand, bagged the Best Performance Award. The awards ceremony is set to happen this July.

Da Dog Show
has been chosen as Best Film in of 2015 by the Young Critics Circle.

According to the official website of the academe-based critics group, it bested five other films including the Nora Aunor-starrer Taklub. The other nominees were Ari: My Life with a King, Balikbayan #1, An Kubo sa Kawayanan, and Mga Rebeldeng May Kaso.

Starring Lou Veloso, Da Dog Show is about a struggling dog trainer living inside a mausoleum in a cemetery with his two children. Directed by Ralston Jover, the film also starred Mercedes Cabral.

Lou also bagged the Best Performer award for the movie while Ralston, who also wrote the film, won the Best Screenplay award.

This is the second time that Ralston won the Best Film award from Young Critics Circle. His first was the 2009 movie Bakal Boys.

Da Dog Show was first screened during the World Premieres Festival which took place from June 29 to July 7 in select SM cinemas.

Continue reading below ↓

On the other hand, the movie Balikbayan #1 directed by Kidlat Tahimik won two awards: Best Cinematography and Visual Design and Best Sound and Aural Orchestration.

Salvage, directed by Sherad Anthony Sanchez, garnered the Best Editing Award.

Three films were also cited as Best First Features. These are: Carlo Enciso Catu’s Ari: My Life with a King, Bor Ocampo’s Dayang Asu and Ara Chawdhury’s Miss Bulalacao.

The Young Critics Circle considered 115 films that were released in 2015 and narrowed the choice to 25 films. After hours of deliberations, the list was narrowed down to a shortlist of 12 films.

The awards ceremony for the winners are set to happen on the first week of July at the University of the Philippines Diliman.

Here is the full list of winners:


WINNER: Da Dog Show, directed by Ralston Jover (Bessie Padilla, Jean Pierre Gimenez, Darlene Catly Malimas, Sven Schnell, producers)

Continue reading below ↓

Ari: My Life with a King, directed by Carlo Enciso Catu (Jocelyn Aniceto and Geromin Nepomuceno, Jr., executive producers; Ferdinand Lapuz, producer)

Balikbayan #1, directed by Kidlat Tahimik (Voyage Studios)

An Kubo sa Kawayanan, directed by Alvin Yapan (Alemberg Ang, Alvin Yapan, Ronald Rebutica, executive producers; Andrea Fe Quizon, line producer)

Mga Rebeldeng May Kaso, directed by Raymond Red (Daphne Chiu and Toni Vasquez, line producers)

Taklub, directed by Brillante Mendoza (Loreto Castillo, producer)


WINNER: Da Dog Show (Ralston Jover)

Ari: My Life with a King (Robby Tantingco)

Balikbayan #1 (Kidlat Tahimik)

An Kubo sa Kawayanan (Alvin Yapan)

Mga Rebeldeng May Kaso (Raymond Red)

Salvage (Sherad Anthony Sanchez)

Taklub (Honeylyn Joy Alipio)


WINNER: Lou Veloso, Da Dog Show

Nora Aunor, Taklub

Mercedes Cabral, Da Dog Show

Mercedes Cabral, An Kubo sa Kawayanan

Alessandra de Rossi, Bambanti

Ensemble cast (Epy Quizon, Felix Roco, Nicco Manalo, Earl Ignacio, Angela Cortez), Mga Rebeldeng May Kaso

Continue reading below ↓

Ensemble cast (Jessy Mendiola, JC de Vera, Barbie Capacio, Karl Medina, Joel Saracho), Salvage

Micko Laurente, Bambanti

Ronwaldo Martin, Ari: My Life with a King

Julia Montes, Halik sa Hangin


WINNER: Balikbayan #1, Boy Yniguez, Lee Briones, Abi Lara, Santos Bayucca, Kidlat de Guia, Kawayan de Guia, and Kidlat Tahimik (cinematography); Kidlat Tahimik (production design); Santiago Bose (set design); Katrin de Guia (costume)

Bambanti, Joseph Delos Reyes and Ma. Solita Garcia (cinematography), Aped Santos (production design)

Da Dog Show, Carlo Mendoza (cinematography), Deans Habal (production design)

Halik sa Hangin, Moises Zee (cinematography), Manny Morfe (production design)

An Kubo sa Kawayanan, Ronald Rebutica (cinematography), Paolo Rey Mendoza Piaña (production design)

Miss Bulalacao, Christian Linaban (cinematography), Ernest Diño, Philip Sinajonon (production design)

Mga Rebeldeng May Kaso, Raymond Red (cinematography), Danny Red (production design)

Salvage, Malay Javier (cinematography), Joel Geolamen (production design)

Taklub, Odyssey Flores (cinematography), Harley Alcasid and Brillante Mendoza (production design)


WINNER: Salvage (Lawrence Ang)

Continue reading below ↓

Balikbayan #1 (Charlie Fugunt, Abi Lara, Chuck Gutierrez, Clang Sison, Malaya

Da Dog Show (Kats Serraon)

Halik sa Hangin (Beng Bandong)

An Kubo sa Kawayanan (Benjamin Tolentino)

Mga Rebeldeng May Kaso (Raymond Red and Erwin Toledo)

Shapes of Crimson (Emil James Mijares)


WINNER: Balikbayan #1, Ed de Guia (sound), Los Indios de Espana and Shanto (music)


Ari: My Life with a King, Gilbert Obispo (sound), Jake Abella (music)

Halik sa Hangin, Addiss Tabong (sound engineer), Francis Concio (music)


Ari: My Life with a King (Carlo Enciso Catu)

Dayang Asu (Bor Ocampo)

Miss Bulalacao (Ara Chawdhury)

Shapes of Crimson (Emil James Mijares)

Read Next
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
Da Dog Show was cited by the Young Critics Circle as its Best Film for 2015. Its lead actor Lou Veloso, on the other hand, bagged the Best Performance Award. The awards ceremony is set to happen this July.
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the PEP.ph editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results