Gusto mo bang lagi kang una sa showbiz news at scoops? Subscribe to our Viber Chatbot now para lagi kang updated!

Subscribe Now

Janice de Belen, Sandino Martin win top acting awards in World Premieres Film Fest 2016

by James Patrick Anarcon
Jul 4, 2016

The winners of the World Premieres Film Festival Philippines 2016 were announced last night, July 3, during a ceremony held at Cinematheque Centre Manila.

Janice de Belen and Sandino Martin were named as Best Actress and Best Actor in the Filipino New Cinema category. They won for the entry Ringgo: The Dog Shooter, which was also hailed as the 2nd Best Picture. Ricky Lee won the Best Screenplay award for Ringgo.

Janice won for her portrayal of a lesbian named Bong while Sandino was cited for portraying a dog shooter or someone who facilitates the mating of two dogs in heat.

Alvin Yapan's EDSA (an ensemble film starring Kris Bernal, Aljur Abrenica, and Hayden Kho, among others), won the Best Picture award.

Meanwhile, Louie Ignacio's Laut won a Special Jury Prize award in the ASEAN Skies category.

(To learn more about the film fest, read: Guide to World Premieres Film Fest 2016)

Continue reading below ↓

Here is the full list of winners:

Filipino New Cinema

Best Sound: Corrine De San Jose, EDSA

Best Musical Scoring: Emerzon Texon, Iadya Mo Kami

Best Editing: Benjamin Tolentino, EDSA

Best Production Design: Edgar Martin Littaua, Iadya Mo Kami

Best Cinematography: Ronald Rebutica, EDSA

Best Screenplay: Ricky Lee, Ringgo The Dog Shooter

Continue reading below ↓
Recommended Videos

Special Jury Prize: Mel Chionglo, Iadya Mo Kami

Special Jury Prize: Curiosity, Adventure and Love

Special Citation For Acting Ensemble: EDSA

Best Actor: Sandino Martin, Ringgo The Dog Shooter

Best Actress: Janice De Belen, Ringgo The Dog Shooter

2nd Best Picture: Ringgo The Dog Shooter

Best Picture: EDSA

Main Competition

Technical Grand Prize – Love Above All Thing

Best Artistic Contributions – Daughters of the Three Tailed Banner

Best Ensemble Performance – By Accident (France)

Best Actress – Redha

Best Actor – Love Above All Thing

Special Jury Prize – (for Best Director) By Accident

Special Festival Prize – Redha

Continue reading below ↓

Grand Jury Prize – Daughters of the Three Tailed Banner

Grand Festival Prize – Yen’s Life


Technical Achievement – Parasol (Belgium)

Best Female Performance – The Storm Inside (France)

Best Male Performance – Pleasure. Love. (China)

Best Film – The Storm Inside (France)


Technical Achievement – Beast

Best Female Performance – Remittance

Best Male Performance – Beast

Special Jury Prize – Laut

Best Film – Beast

Read Next
Latest Stories

Gusto mo bang lagi kang una sa showbiz news at scoops? Subscribe to our Viber Chatbot now para lagi kang updated!

Subscribe Now
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results