Sinag Maynila 2017 winners revealed; RS Francisco and Kristoffer King tied for Best Actor

Raymond "RS" Francisco tearfully accepted his first Best Actor award during the 3rd edition of the Sinag Maynila Film Festival.

RS of the film Bhoy Intsik tied with Kristoffer King of Kristo for the Best Actor category of Sinag Maynila 2017.

The awarding ceremony was held earlier tonight, March 12, at the Samsung Hall of SM Aura.

During his acceptance speech, RS told the crowd: "Thank you to everyone who helped me in my career."

As if to verify the results and still reeling from the Oscars mix-up, RS checked the envelope to see if he indeed won the Best Actor award. "Mahirap mag thank you tapos hindi pala. It is my first time humawak ng award. I've been acting since six years old. This is the first time I have been validated as an actor."

Kristoffer was unable to personally accept his Best Actor trophy.

Malona Sulatan of the film Tu Pug Imatuy (The Right To Kill) bagged the Best Actress trophy. She admitted in her speech, "This is my first time in acting and I did not expect this."

Continue reading below ↓

The award for Best Documentary was presented by Paul Soriano who reminded audiences: "A lot of great stories out there and it is time to let the world know our stories."

When he accepted the Best Film award, director Arbi Barbarona of Tu Pug Imatuy gave his wish since his film tackles the situation in Mindanao: "Ito po ang pinakauna kong pelikula. Ang isang pelikula, para sa akin, ay paglalahad ng kwento ko, kwento nating lahat at kwento ng mundo. I pray na ipagpatuloy ang peace talks."

Here is the list of winners of Sinag Maynila 2017:

Best Film: Tu Pug Imatuy

Best Actor (tie): Raymond "RS" Francisco for Bhoy Intsik and Kristofer King for Kristo

Best Actress: Malona Sulatan for Tu Pug Imatuy

Best Supporting Performance: Julio Diaz for Kristo

Best Documentary: Hango by Avelino Balmes Jr.

Best Short Film: Aliens Ata by Karl Glenn Barit

Sinag Maynila Box Office Award: Bhoy Intsik by Joel Lamangan

SM People Choice Film Award (highest rating by audience): Beyond the Block by Ricky Carranza

Best Sound: Kristo (Albert Michael Idioma)

Best Musical Score: Tu Pug Imatuy (Arbi Barbarona)

Best Editing: Kristo (Diego Marx Dobles)

Best Cinematography: Tu Pug Imatuy (Bryan Jimenez and Arbi Barbarona)

Best Production Design: Kristo (James Arvin Rosendal)

Best Director: Tu Pug Imatuy (Arbi Barbarona)

Best Screenplay: Tu Pug Imatuy (Arnel Mardoquio)


Read Next
Read More Stories About
Sinag Maynila, winners
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results