19th Gawad Pasado winners revealed; Enrique, Piolo and Allen get top acting honors

by James Patrick Anarcon
Mar 29, 2017
(L-R) Enrique Gil, Piolo Pascual, and Allen Dizon tied in the Best Actor category of the 19th Gawad Pasado Awards.

The winners of the 19th Gawad Pasado (Pampelikulang Samahan ng mga Dalubguro) have been revealed recently.

Charo Santos-Concio and Vilma Santos, who staged their movie comeback through their respective films in 2016, tied in the Best Actress category (Pinakapasadong Aktres).

Meanwhile, Enrique Gil, Allen Dizon, and Piolo Pascual tied for the Pinakapasadong Aktor award or the Best Actor category.

Five movies were chosen as Best Films of 2016.

Two of these were Lav Diaz films: Ang Babaeng Humayo (the Charo Santos-Concio-starrer about a woman wrongfully imprisoned for 30 years) and Hele sa Hiwagang Hapis (which depicts Gregoria de Jesus's search for the body of Andres Bonifacio, the journey of Jose Rizal's fictional book characters Simon and Isagani as well as creatures from Philippine mythology).

Also chosen was the Cinemalaya 2016 entry Tuos, starring Nora Aunor and Barbie Forteza, which depicts the fate of a binukot or kept maiden tasked to preserve the traditions of their tribe.

Continue reading below ↓

In Iadya Mo Kami, Allen Dizon portrayed a priest who sires a child with his lover.

Completing the list is Brillante Mendoza's Ma'Rosa. Jaclyn Jose and Julio Diaz play a couple arrested by corrupt policemen for using their sari-sari store as a front to sell drugs.

This year's Gawad Pasado Awards will be held on April 28, 2017.

Here are the winners chosen by the academe-based group:

Pinakapasadong Pelikula ng Taon

Ang Babaeng Humayo (Cinema One Originals, Sine Olivia Pilipinas)

Tuos (Purple Pig Production)

Hele sa Hiwaga ng Hapis (Star Cinema, Ten17 Productions, Epic Media, Sine Olivia Pilipinas)

Iadya Mo Kami (BG Productions International)

Ma’Rosa (Center Stage Productions)

Pinakapasadong Direktor

Lav Diaz (Ang Babaeng Humayo)

Mel Chionglo (Iadya Mo Kami)

Pinakapasadong Aktor

Allen Dizon (Iadya Mo Kami)

Piolo Pascual (Hele Sa Hiwagang Hapis)

Enrique Gil (Dukot)

Pinakapasadong Aktres

Vilma Santos (Everything About Her)

Charo Santos- Concio (Ang Babaeng Humayo)

Pinakapasadong Katuwang na Aktor

Paulo Avelino (The Unmarried Wife)

Zanjoe Marudo (The Third Party)

Pinakapasadong Katuwang na Aktres

Barbie Forteza (Tuos)

Aiko Melendez (Iadya Mo Kami)

Pinakapasadong Istorya

Denise O’Hara (Tuos)

Pinakapasadong Tunog

Robert Delgado (Kute)

Pinkapasadong Musika

Robert Delgado (Kute)

Pinakapasadong Editing

Lav Diaz (Ang Babaeng Humayo)

Pinakapasadong Sinematograpiya

Mycko David (Iadya Mo Kami)

Pinakapasadong Dulang Pampelikula

Denise O’Hara (Tuos)

Pinakapasadong Disenyong Pamproduksiyon

Popo Diaz (Hele Sa Hiwagang Hapis)

Continue reading below ↓
Read Next
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
(L-R) Enrique Gil, Piolo Pascual, and Allen Dizon tied in the Best Actor category of the 19th Gawad Pasado Awards.
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the PEP.ph editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results