Claudine Barretto graces Guillermo 2018 awards night; Regine teases Ogie: "Walangh*ya ka!"

IMAGE Allan Sancon

Regine Velasquez (left frame) chided husband Ogie Alcasid for not mentioning her when he accepted his award at the 2018 Guillermo Box Office Entertainment Awards. Claudine Barretto (wearing green, right frame) posed with (L-R) Alden Richards, Aga Muhlach, Charlene Gonzalez, Marian Rivera, and Dingdong Dantes.

There were plenty of lighthearted moments when the stars personally received their trophies at the awarding of the 49th Guillermo Mendoza Memorial Scholarship Foundation Box Office Entertainment Awards.

The star-studded event was held last night, May 20, at Resorts World Manila.

Claudine Barretto made a public appearance when she was tapped to be a presentor and introduce Aga Muhlach when he received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Regine Velasquez-Alcasid brought the house down when she teased her husband Ogie Alcasid for not mentioning her during his acceptance speech.

"Gusto ko pasamalatan ang asawa ko na hindi man lang ako pinasalamatan. Uso pa naman ngayong gabi yun. Walanghiya ka," joked Asia's Songbird. "Magtutuos tayo mamaya."

Ogie previously went up the stage to accept the Male Concert Performer of the Year Award that he shared with Martin Nievera and Erik Santos.

Regine pointed this out since she noticed that the other husbands thanked their wives in their acceptance speeches. Aga Muhlach thanked Charlene Gonzales, Robin Padilla thanked Mariel Rodriguez, and Dingdong Dantes expressed his gratitude for Marian Rivera.

Last night, Regine won the Female Concert Performer of the Year Award.


When Dingdong and Aga went up the stage to receive the award for Film Actor of the Year, they called upon their co-star Enrique Gil. The three guys were cast as siblings in the family drama Seven Sundays. Dingdong and Aga urged Enrique to take the trophy but Enrique felt shy about accepting the award.

Dingdong disclosed that during the two months that they spent while doing this Star Cinema movie, they really became a family just like the Bonifacio family that they portrayed onscreen.


Another sidelight of the evening was when GMA-7 actor Alden Richards had the chance to interact with ABS-CBN stars Enrique and Liza Soberano.

Alden was seated beside the LizQuen tandem inside the venue. When Liza arrived, she greeted Alden with a kiss on the cheek.

Vice Ganda accepted the Phenomenal Stars of Philippine Cinema Award on behalf of his Gandarrapido: The Revenger Squad co-stars Pia Wurtzbach, and Daniel Padilla.


The It's Showtime host said, "Ang gaganda ng mga artistang nasa harap ko ngayon. Sino ba mag-aakala na isang baklang butiki ang magiging artistang tulad ko at magpapasaya sa inyo mga manunuod."

Vice Ganda joked that Pia did not personally accept ang award since she would feel insecure of his beauty. Daniel and his rumored girlfriend Kathryn Bernardo also did not attend the awards night.

Serving as the hosts that night were (L-R) Yassi Pressman, Robi Domingo, Iza Calzado, Xian Lim, Arci Munoz, and Enchong Dee.


Here are the winners of the 49th Guillermo Mendoza Memorial Scholarship Foundation Box Office Entertainment Awards:

Lifetime Achievement Award - Aga Muhlach
All Time Favorite Actor - Robin Padilla
Phenomenal Stars of Philippine Cinema –
Vice Ganda, Pia Wurtzbach, Daniel Padilla
Box Office King –
Enrique Gil
Box Office Queen –
Liza Soberano
Film Actor of the Year –
Dingdong Dantes & Aga Muhlach
Male TV Host of the Year
- Robi Domingo
Female TV Host of the Year - Marian Rivera
Male Recording Artist of the Year - Alden Richards
Male Concert Performer of the Year - Martin Nievera, Ogie Alsid and Erik Santos
Female Concert Performer of the Year - Regine Velasquez-Alcasid
Breakthrough Movie Actor of the Year - Empoy Marquez
Breakthrough Movie Love Team of the Year - Empoy Marquez & Alessandra de Rossi
Most Popular Loveteam of Movies & Television - Joshua Garcia and Julia Barretto
TV Actor of the Year - Gabby Concepcion
TV Actress of the Year - Maja Salvador
Film Actress of the Year - Iza Calzado
Movie Supporting Actress of the Year - Cristine Reyes
Movie Supporting Actor of the Year - Matteo Guidicelli
Comedy Actor of the Year - Vic Sotto
Male Celebrity of the Night - Xian Lim
Female Celebrity of the Night - Iza Calzado
Best Ensemble Performance on Television - Cast of The Good Son
TV Supporting Actor of The Year - Tirso Cruz III
TV Supporting Actress of The Year - Ryza Cenon
Most Popular TV Program- Daytime Drama - Wildflower
Most Popular TV Program- Primetime Drama - FPJ's Ang Probinsyano


Most Popular TV Program - News & Public Affairs - Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho

Most Promising Male Star of the Year - Ruru Madrid
Most Promising Female Concert Performer of the Year - Jona, Morissette Amon, and Klarisse De Guzman
Most Promising Male Concert Performer of the Year - Darren Espanto
Most Promising Male Recording Artist of Year - Inigo Pascual
Most Popular Film Director – Coco Martin (Ang Panday)
Most Popular Film Producer - Spring Films
Most Popular Screenwriter - Sigrid Andrea Bernardo
Most Popular TV Program - Musical Variety Noontime/Primetime - ASAP
Most Popular Male Child Performer - Baeby Baste
Most Popular Female Child Performer - Nayomi Ramos
Longest Running Daytime Drama Anthology and Record TV Rating for Morning Primetime Slot - Mahal Kong Maynila

Special Awards:

Bert Marcelo Lifetime Achievement Award - Janno Gibbs
Outstanding Celebrity Businessman of the Year - Raymond "RS" Francisco
Outstanding Public Service Award - Congressman Lito Atienza
Outstanding Goverment Service Award - Governor Imee Marcos

* All photos by Allan Sancon

Stories We Are Tracking

Vice, Daniel, Pia named Phenomenal Stars of Phil. Cinema
Vice, Daniel, Pia named Phenomenal Stars of Phil. Cinema






Loading comments