Blooper spoils FAMAS 2018 awards night; Agot Isidro and Allen Dizon lead winners

Agot Isidro and Allen Dizon (left frame) won the Best Actress and Best Actor trophies at the 66th edition of FAMAS. Coco Martin (right frame) earned the FPJ Achievement Award.

A blooper marred the awards night of the 2018 FAMAS (The Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences) held on June 10 at The Theatre at Solaire.

The mistake happened when Ella Cruz and Julian Trono announced the very first award handed out last night.

The nominees of Sound Engineering were shown to the audience and the presenters revealed that the winner was the film Instalado. However, it turned out that Instalado won in the next category, Visual Effects.

It was Nervous Translation that won in the category Sound Engineering.

Ella simply said, "Ay, maling sobre. Sorry po, pasensiya na po. Alam niyo na po ang winner."

Continue reading below ↓

Coco Martin personally received his trophy for the FPJ Memorial Award and thanked former ABS-CBN President Charo Santos-Concio for her help in FPJ's Ang Probinsyano.

"Hindi ko akalain na magiging artista ako sa bulol kong ito, hindi ako katangkaran at hindi ako artistahin. Hindi ko akalain na makakapasok ako sa showbiz," said Coco in his acceptance speech.

Lav Diaz also personally received the FAMAS Lifetime Achievement Award this year. Charo Santos-Concio, the lead star of his film Ang Babaeng Humayo, presented the trophy to the veteran filmmaker.

Agot Isidro and Allen Dizon took home the Best Actress and Best Actor trophies, respectively.

Kim Chiu became controversial hours before the FAMAS awarding ceremony because of the gown that she was supposed to wear tonight.

Here's a look at the gowns that she finally wore at the event where she served as one of the emcees:

Continue reading below ↓

* All photos by Allan Sancon

Here is the list of winners of the 66th Famas Awards:

Lifetime Achievement Award- Lav Diaz

Best Film - Balangiga: Howling Wilderness

Grand Jury Prize - Tu Pug Imatuy (The Right To Kill) and Respeto

Outstanding Achievement in Directing - Arnel Barbarona (Tu Pug Imatuy The Right To Kill)

Best Actress in a Leading Role - Agot Isidro (Changing Partners)

Best Actor in a Leading Role - Allen Dizon (Bomba)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role - Odette Khan (Barboys)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role - Mon Confiado - (Mga Gabing Kasinghaba ng Hair Ko)

Dolphy King of Comedy Award - Vice Ganda

FPJ Memorial Award - Coco Martin

German Moreno Youth Achievement Award - Awra and Julie Ann San Jose

Best Adapted Screenplay - Changing Partners - Vincent De Jesus and Lilit Reyes

Best Original Screenplay - Khavn de la Cruz, Achinette Villamor and Jerry Gracio - Balangiga: Howling Wilderness

Male and Female Celebrity of the Night - Joshua Garcia and Julia Barretto

Continue reading below ↓

Male Face of the Night - JC Santos

Female Face of the Night - Max Eigenmann

Best Original Song - "Katurog Na" from Balangiga: Howling Wilderness by Lolita Carbon; Music & Lyrics by Khavn de la Cruz

Best Musical Score - Respeto - Jay Oliver Durias

Best Sound Engineering - Nervous Translation - Mikko Quizon, Jason Conannan, Katherine Salinas and John Perez

Best Visual Effects - Instalado - Iar Arondaing

Short Film - Grand Jury Prize - Aliens Ata (Karl Gleen Barit) and Dory (Beverly Anne Ramos)

Best Short Film - Hilom (PR Patindol)

Best Documentary Film - Yield (Victor Delotavo Iagaro and Toshihiko Uriu

Best Editing - Yield - Victor Delotavo Tagaro

Best Production Design - Balangiga: Howling Wilderness - Marija Vicente, Timmy Harin and Zeus Bascon

Best Cinematography - Balangiga: Howling Wilderness - Albert Banzon


Read Next
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
Agot Isidro and Allen Dizon (left frame) won the Best Actress and Best Actor trophies at the 66th edition of FAMAS. Coco Martin (right frame) earned the FPJ Achievement Award.
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results