Winners of Eddy Awards 2018 bared; Maricel, Charo, Eddie and Nora among Film Icons honored

Underground hip hop film Respeto was the big winner in the 2018 Entertainment Editors’ Awards, more popularly known as The Eddys.

The movie featuring popular rappers Abra and Loonie received the Best Film award from The Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd). Respeto also bagged five more trophies.

The winners of the 2nd Eddys were honored during the awarding ceremony held earlier tonight, July 9, at The Theatre at Solaire.

Mary Joy Apostol of Birdshot was able to beat four other contenders in the Best Actress category.

The other nominees were Joanna Ampil of Ang Larawan, Sharon Cuneta of Unexpectedly Yours, Bela Padilla of 100 Tula Para kay Stella, and Alessandra de Rossi of Kita Kita.

The Best Actor award went to Aga Muhlach for Seven Sundays. He was able to beat his Seven Sundays co-star Ronaldo Valdez as well as Abra of Respeto, Joshua Garcia of Love You To The Stars And Back, and Edgar Allan Guzman of Deadma Walking.

Maricel Soriano, Charo Santos-Concio, Eddie Garcia, and Nora Aunor were among the Film Icon Tribute Awardees who personally received their trophies earlier tonight.

The Diamond Star thanked the late King of Comedy Dolphy because, "Kung hindi dahil sa kanya, walang Maricel Soriano."

Continue reading below ↓

Gloria Romero and Susan Roces, unfortunately, were unable to accept their Film Icon Tribute Awards.

Hailed as the Best Dressed Celebrities tonight were JC Santos and Sanya Lopez.

Meanwhile, David Licauco and Andrea Torres were chosen as the Stars of the Night.

The late Maryo J. Delos Reyes posthumously received the Tribute Award from SPEEd.

The late film critic Mario Hernando was conferred the Manny Pichel Award that is named for the veteran entertainment editor of the Daily Express.

Veteran entertainment editor Ricky Lo also received the Joe Quirino Award.

Here are the winners of the 2nd Eddys 2018:

Best Film: Respeto

Best Director: Mikhail Red (Birdshot)

Best Actress: Mary Joy Apostol (Birdshot)

Best Actor: Aga Muhlach (Seven Sundays)

Best Supporting Actress (triple tie): Angeli Bayani (Maestra), Therese Malvar (Ilawod) and Chai Fonacier (Respeto)

Best Supporting Actor: Dido Dela Paz (Respeto)

Best Cinematography: Mikko David (Birdshot)

Best Original Screenplay: Eric Cabahug (Deadma Walking)

Continue reading below ↓

Best Sound Design: Corinne De San Jose (Respeto)

Best Musical Score: Jay Durias (Respeto)

Best Original Theme Song: Respeto

Best Visual Effects: Ang Panday

Best Editing: Marya Ignacio (Kita Kita)

Best Production Design: Gino Gonzales (Ang Larawan)

Rising Producers Circle: Roselle Monteverde (Regal Films) and Veronique Del Rosario (Viva Films)

Producer of the Year: Vic Del Rosario Jr.


Best Actress winner Mary Joy Apostol of Birdshot

Best Supporting Actor winner Dido Dela Paz of Respeto

Continue reading below ↓
Read Next
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results