Nora Aunor excluded anew from list of National Artists

Musician Ryan Cayabyab and filmmaker Kidlat Tahimik are among the 7 persons proclaimed as National Artists this 2018.
by James Patrick Anarcon
Oct 24, 2018
This 2018, (L-R) Ryan Cayabyab, Amelia Lapeña-Bonifacio, and Kidlat Tahimik were among those proclaimed as National Artists.

Seven personalities in Philippine arts and culture were named National Artists today, October 24, during a ceremony in Malacanang.

These personalities, who are considered to be giants in their fields, are (in alphabetical order):

Larry Alcala - National Artist for Visual Arts

Amelia Lapeña Bonifacio - National Artist for Theater

Ryan Cayabyab - National Artist for Music

Francisco "Bobby" Mañosa - National Artist for Architecture

Resil Mojares - National Artist for Literature

Ramon Muzones - National Artist for Literature

Kidlat Tahimik - National Artist for Cinema

Superstar Nora Aunor, however, is excluded again from the list.

According to National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) project coordinator Sabrina Tan, the 65-year-old Onanay actress was automatically nominated to become National Artist, since she was included in the previous shortlist of nominees.

In 2014, former president Benigno Aquino III said that he removed Nora from the list of awardees because of issues linking her to illegal drug use.


Three female weavers also received the Gawad sa Manlilikha ng Bayan award or National Living Treasures in 2017.

They are: Yabing Masalon Dulo, B’laan ikat weaver; Ambalang Ausalin, Yakan weaver; and Estelita Bantilan, B’laan mat weaver.

According to the website of NCCA, the recipients will be entitled to these following privileges: the rank and title of National Artist; gold-plated medallion minted by the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) and citation; and a lifetime emolument and material and physical benefits comparable in value to those received by the highest officers of the land.

Furthermore, living awardees will get a minimum of P200,000 cash award, net of taxes; minimum lifetime personal monthly stipend of P50,000; and medical and hospitalization benefits not exceeding P750,000 per year; life insurance policy by the Government Service Insurance System (GSIS) and or/ private insurance companies from date of conferment of the award, in the event that the National Artist is insurable; a state funeral; a place of honor at state functions, national commemoration ceremonies and all other cultural presentations.


On the other hand, posthumous awardees get a one-time minimum cash award of P150,000.

Read Next
PEP Live
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
This 2018, (L-R) Ryan Cayabyab, Amelia Lapeña-Bonifacio, and Kidlat Tahimik were among those proclaimed as National Artists.
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results