MMFF 2018 winners air grievances during awards night

<p>Aiko Melendez is named MMFF 2018 Best Supporting Actress for the movie <em>Rainbow's Sunset. </em></p>
PHOTO/S: Allan Sancon

The LGBT film Rainbow's Sunset emerged as the Best Picture during the awards night of the 2018 Metro Manila Film Festival.

The 8 official entries that competed this year were: Aurora; Fantastica; Jack Em Popoy: The PulisCredibles; Mary, Marry Me; One Great Love; The Girl in the Orange Dress; Rainbow's Sunset; and Otlum.

The awards night of the 44th edition of MMFF took place earlier tonight, December 27, at The Theatre at Solaire.

Joel Lamangan, who won as Best Director for Rainbow's Sunset, made this appeal on behalf of artists: "Sana naman, huwag lang komersyo ang kanilang isipin. Irespeto rin sana ng mga sinehan ang sining at industriya."

Writer Gina Marissa Tagasa read a message from Mother Lily Monteverde and Roselle Monteverde of Regal Entertainment asking for "fair treatment" of all movies. They asked that all MMFF entries receive the same number of cinemas across the Philippines.

Harlene Bautista, a producer of Rainbow's Sunset, asked for more cinemas because she said their film deserves it.


Phoebe Villamor cried as she accepted her Best Child Performer award for her role in Aurora.

However, people laughed when she made the mistake of thanking Vic Sotto instead of Viva Artists Agency head honcho Vic Del Rosario.


Gloria Romero of Rainbow's Sunset was named as MMFF 2018 Best Actress for her portrayal of a woman, whose husband comes out of the closet after being married to her for several decades. She won the same award from the festival in 2000 for the movie Tanging Yaman. The 85-year-old actress has been in the business since 1952, and has starred in over 200 movie and television projects.

Back to the winners of MMFF 2018, here's the complete list.

Best Picture - Rainbow's Sunset

2nd Best Picture - Aurora

3rd Best Picture - One Great Love

Best Actress - Gloria Romero (Rainbow's Sunset)

Best Actor - Dennis Trillo (One Great Love)


Best Supporting Actress - Aiko Melendez (Rainbow's Sunset)

Best Supporting Actor - Tony Mabesa (Rainbow's Sunset)

FPJ Memorial Award - Jack Em Popoy: The PulisCredibles

Gat Puno J. Villegas Cultural Award - Rainbow's Sunset

Special Jury Prize - Eddie Garcia (Rainbow's Sunset)

Jury Prize - Max Collins (Rainbow's Sunset)

Best Director - Joel Lamangan (Rainbow's Sunset)

Male and Female Lucky Star of the Night - Jericho Rosales and Anne Curtis

Best Child Performer - Phoebe Villamor (Aurora)

Best Cinematography - Aurora

Best Visual Effects - Aurora

Best Production Design - Rainbow's Sunset

Best Sound Design - Aurora

Best Musical Score - One Great Love

Best Original Theme Song - "Sa 'yo Na" (Rainbow's Sunset)

Best Editing - Jack Em Popoy: The PulisCredibles

Best Screenplay - Rainbow's Sunset

MMFF Student Best Short Film - Kasilyas (Bulacan State University)

Best Float - Jack Em Popoy: The PulisCredibles

The 44th edition of MMFF will end on January 7, 2019.

Read Next
PEP Live
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
<p>Aiko Melendez is named MMFF 2018 Best Supporting Actress for the movie <em>Rainbow's Sunset. </em></p>
PHOTO/S: Allan Sancon
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results