KKK wins five awards in the 23rd Star Awards for Movies

Gina Pareño (right) and Direk Joey Reyes won in theirrespective categories—Movie Supporting Actress of the Year and Movie Directorof the Year—for the romantic comedy Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo.

Star Cinema gets five Stars!

During the 23rd Star Awards for Movies held last March 23,Star Cinema's Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo (KKK) emerged as the big winner.

ThePhilippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) dubbed their awards night as "ANight of Winners, A Night of Champions, A Night of Triumph." For several hoursthat Friday night, the Universityof the Philippines Theater in Diliman, Quezon City, was filled with Starawardees, champion singers, and triumphant winners. In fact, 24 trophies weregiven away by the PMPC that night—five of which were bagged by KKK.

Hosts for that evening were DingdongDantes, Iza Calzado, Heart Evangelista and Jericho Rosales. Ryan Agoncilloserved as the trivia host and had pre-taped his segment called "Best GlobalMovie Triumphs."

Judy Ann Santos (who was caught up in traffic en route tothe venue, causing her to miss the awards night) was represented by herbrother, Jeffrey. When he accepted the Movie Actress of the Year award from thePMPC, he told the audience: "She [Judy Ann] wants to thank PMPC for giving herthis award and Star Cinema for giving her the chance to win this award.Pinaparating rin po ni Juday na sana daw yung page-enjoy natin sa panonood ng Kasal,Kasali, Kasalo ay pareho ng enjoyment they went through when they weremaking this film."

This Star Cinema entry was also chosen as Movie of the Yearand had the Most Original Screenplay of the Year. Gina Pareño also took homethe Movie Supporting Actress of the Year for this romantic comedy. "Thank youfor trusting in me, PMPC [Philippine Movie Press Club]. Malaking bagay angmagagawa sa akin nito. I will treasure this," said the veteran actress in heracceptance speech. Gina bested Pops Fernandez (Zsa Zsa Zaturnnah: Ze Moveeh),Liza Lorena (Inang Yaya), Cherry Pie Picache (Twilight Dancers),and Jodi Sta. Maria (You Are the One) for the said category.


When Direk Joey Reyes was called twice in a row for winningMovie Original Screenplay of the Year and Movie Director of the Year, he toldthe audience: "Again, maraming salamat sa Star Cinema for your ceaseless trustsa akin bilang isang director. Maraming salamat, Judy Ann Santos at RyanAgoncillo. Maraming salamat sa lahat ng aking production staff na sanapakaraming taon ay tinitiis ang aking kabaliwan...As I've said before, there isno such thing as a best director. There are only directors who try their bestto keep you entertained. I share this with all the other nominees. It just sohappened that I'm the only one who is holding the trophy right now. This is asmuch yours as this is mine. Mabuhay ang pelikulang Pilipino!"

Here is the complete list ofwinners during the 23rd Star Awards for Movies:

Ulirang Artista Awardee

Mr. German Moreno

Movie of the Year
Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo (Star Cinema)

Movie Director of the Year
Jose Javier Reyes (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo)

Digital Movie of the Year
Inang Yaya (Unitel Pictures)

Digital Movie Director of the Year
Pablo Biglang-Awa and Veronica Velasco (Inang Yaya)

Movie Actress of the Year
Judy Ann Santos (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo)

Movie Actor/s of the Year
Piolo Pascual (Don't Give Up On Us)
Jericho Rosales (Pacquiao The Movie)

Movie Supporting Actress of the Year
Gina Pareño (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo)

Movie Supporting Actor of the Year
Allen Dizon (Twilight Dancers)

Movie Child Performer of the Year
Tala Santos (Inang Yaya)

New Movie Actress of the Year
Maja Salvador (Sukob)

New Movie Actor of the Year
Sam Milby (You Are The One)

Movie Editor of the Year

Manet Dayrit (Sukob)

Movie Production Designer of the Year

Egay Littaua (Zsa Zsa Zaturnnah)

Movie Original Screenplay of the Year

Jose Javier Reyes (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo)

Movie Cinematographer of the Year

Charlie Peralta (Don't Give Up On Us)

Movie Musical Scorer of the Year


Vincent De Jesus (Zsa Zsa Zaturnnah)

Movie Sound Engineer of the Year

Albert Michael Idioma (Sukob)

Movie Original Theme Song of the Year

"Sana Ay Malaman Mo" (Theme song from the movie Don'tGive Up On Us from Star Cinema. Composed by Ogie Alcasid and LouieOcampo/Interpreted by Piolo Pascual)

Darling of the Press

Ogie Alcasid

Male Star of the Night

Sam Milby

Female Star of the Night

Kim Chiu

Male Face of the Night

Dingdong Dantes

Female Face of the Night

Heart Evangelista

Click more photos to view the Star awardees and the the presenters.





Loading comments