Jed Madela wins top honor at 27th Aliw Awards; Baby Barredo, Boy Abunda, Lea Salonga & John Lesaca named Lifetime Achievement Awardees

Dec 7, 2014
Jed Madela and Lea Salonga were some of the winners honored during the 27th Aliw Awards.

For the first time, Jed Madela won the highest award given by the Aliw Awards Foundation.

The internationally acclaimed singer was named Entertainer of the Year during 27th Aliw Awards held at the Newport Performing Arts Center in Resorts World Manila.

Jed, a mainstay of ABS-CBN's ASAP, now joins the ranks of Pilita Corrales, Dulce, Lisa Macuja, Rico J. Puno, Celeste Legaspi, Basil Valdez, Nonoy Zuniga, Lea Salonga, Kuh Ledesma, Martin Nievera, Gary Valenciano, Ogie Alcasid, Freddie Aguilar, Regine Velasquez, Lani Misalucha, Bert Marcelo, Tessie Tomas, Sarah Geronimo and Charice as Entertainers of the Year from 1977 to 2014.

In addition, Jed also bagged awards for Best Major Concert (Male) for this 10th Anniversary Concert at the PICC and Best Performance In A Concert for his All Requests 2 concert at the Music Museum.

In his Instagram account, Jed expressed his gratitude for these awards by posting:

"Dear Lord... you really know how to surprise me! Thank YOU!!! Also thank you to the men & women of the Aliw Awards Foundation for giving me this honor. I share these awards with everyone who has been with me since day one... to those who stayed by me every step of the way... good or bad... highs or lows... Thank you! To all my producers and concert teams... to all the sponsors... To every person who bought tickets to watch the concerts... Thank you! To my family and friends, for the inspiration and encouragement... Again, as long as you are there to hear me sing... I will always be here to sing for you! Much love to everyone!"

The award for Best Performance in A Concert (Female) went to Jonalyn Viray for her Music Museum concert titled Dares to be Fearless.

Four people were honored with Lifetime Achievement Awards this year: thespian Baby Barredo, TV host Boy Abunda, Broadway singer Lea Salonga, and violinist John Lesaca.

Lea, one of the coaches of The Voice PH, also bagged the award for Best Major Concert (Female) for her Playlist concert at the PICC.

In her Twitter account, Lea posted: "Thank you, Aliw Awards. Congrats as well to all the other winners, many of whom are friends and colleagues. Mabuhay kayong lahat!!!"

The rites will be aired on ABS-CBN on January 4, 2015.

Here is the complete list of winners of the 27th Aliw Awards:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Baby Barredo, Boy Abunda, Lea Salonga, John Lesaca
Discovery of the Year: Missy Macuja
Special Aliw Awards: Herminigildo Ranera, Mayor Herbert Bautista, World Costume Festival of Vigan and Resorts World Manila
Hall of Fame Award: Beverly Salviejo, Jon Santos, Halili Cruz Dancers
Best Child Performer: Noel Comia
Best Male New Artist: Michael Pangilinan
Best Female New Artist: Mica Javier
Best New Artist (Group): Kley
Best Dance Company (Classical): Ballet Manila
Best Dance Company (Contemporary): G Force
Best Cultural Group: Tanghalang SLU (Baguio City)
Best Choral Group: Ateneo Chamber Singers
Best Instrumentalist: Johnny Alegre (Guitar)
Best Female Emcee: Toni Gonzaga
Best Male Emcee: Luis Manzano
Best Stand-Up Comedian: Ate Gay
Best Classical Dancer: Lisa Macuja-Elizalde (Ballet Manila)
Best Male Classical Performer: Dondi Ong
Best Female Classical Performer: Fame Flores
Best Crossover Performer: Pinky Amador
Best Crossover Performer (Group): Angelos
Best Production for Children: Tatlo Pang Kuwento ni Lola Basyang (Ballet Manila)
Best Non Musical Production: Games People Play (Ateneo Fine Arts)
Best Musical Production: Rak of Aegis (PETA)
Best Stage Director (Non-Musical): Ed Lacson Jr (Games People Play/Ateneo Fine Arts)
Best Stage Director (Musical): Nonon Padilla (Lorenzo/Green Wings)
Best Actor (Non-Musical): Spanky Manikan (Mga Ama, Mga Anak/Tanghalang Pilipino)
Best Actress(Non-Musical): Liesl Batucan (Wait Until Dark/Repertory Philippines)
Best Actor (Musical): Red Concepcion (Priscilla, Queen of the Desert/ Resorts world)
Best Actress (Musical): Aicelle Santos (Rak of Aegis/PETA)
Best Actress in A Featured Role: Kakai Bautista (Rak of Aegis/PETA)
Best Actor in a Featured Role: Jerald Napoles (Rak of Aegis/PETA)
Best Ensemble Acting: Ensemble Cast of Games People Play (Thea Yrastorza /Abner Delina Jr./Khalil Almonte/ Ateneo Fine Arts)
Best Concert Stage Director: Johnny Manahan (Jed Madela 10th Anniversary Concert)
Best Musical Director: Myke Salomon (Rak of Aegis)
Best Performance in Hotels, Lounges, Bars (Female): Janice Javier (Bar 360/Resortsworld)
Best Performer in Hotels, Lounges, Bars (Male): Mitoy Yonting (Resorts World)
Best Performer in Hotels, Lounges and Bars (Group): Rockin 60‘s (Chef and Brewers)
Best Performance in a Concert (Male): Jed Madela (All Requests 2/Music Museum)
Best Performance in A Concert (Female): Jonalyn Viray (Dares to be Fearless/Music Museum)
Best Performance in a Concert (Group): Freestyle (Hard Rock Cafe)
Best Collaboration in a Concert: Dulce/The Fortenors/Barangay Dance Troupe (Megaworld Show/Marriott Hotel)
Best Major Concert (Group): Parokya ni Edgar (CEU)
Best Major Concert (Male): Jed Madela (10th Anniversary Concert/PICC)
Best Major Concert (Female): Lea Salonga (Playlist/PICC)

Continue reading below ↓
Read Next
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
Jed Madela and Lea Salonga were some of the winners honored during the 27th Aliw Awards.
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results