Himig Handog 2016 winners revealed; Bailey May and Ylona Garcia win in four categories

"Dalawang Letra," interpreted by Itchyworms, emerged as the Best Song in Pinoy Pop (P-POP) Love Songs 2016. Bailey May and Ylona Garcia (right frame) won in four categories this year.

"Dalawang Letra," interpreted by Itchyworms, emerged as the Best Song at the Himig Handog P-Pop Love Songs 2016.

Himig Handog awarded P1 million to the grand prize winner. Meanwhile, P500,000 was given to the 2nd Best Song, which went to "Monumento" interpreted by Kyla and Kris Lawrence.

The composers of the 3rd, 4th, and 5th Best Songs received P200,000, P150,000, and P100,000, respectively.

The awarding ceremony of the OPM songwriting competition took place earlier tonight, April 24, at the Kia Theater in Cubao.

In this year's edition, the top 15 songs were picked from over 6,000 entries attracted by the competition.

Himig Handog P-pop Love Songs was hosted by Robi Domingo, Enrique Gil, Liza Soberano, and Kathryn Bernardo.

Gary Valenciano performed the opening song while Daniel Padilla entertained the crowd with his performance of "Yakap sa Dilim."

The competing entries were: Kyla and Kris Lawrence for “Monumento” composed by Jungee Marcelo; Angeline Quinto and Michael Pangilinan for “Parang Tayo Pero Hindi” by Marlon Barnuevo, KZ Tandingan featuring Jay-R for “Laban Pa” by David Dimaguila; Janella Salvador and Marlo Mortel for “Mananatili” by Francis Louis Salazar, and Bailey May and Ylona Garcia for “O Pag-ibig” by Honlani Rabe and Jack Rufo.

Completing the list of interpreters are Barbie Almalbis for “Ambon” by Nica Del Rosario, Nyoy Volante for “Patay na si Uto” by Oliver Narag, Itchyworms for “Dalawang Letra” by Davey Langit, Kaye Cal for “Nyebe” by Aries Sales, Morissette for “Diamante” by Jungee Marcelo, Juris for “Bibitawan Ka” by Hazel Faith Dela Cruz, Klarisse De Guzman for “Sana Tumibok Muli” by Jose Joel Mendoza, Jona for “Maghihintay Ako” by Dante Bantatua, Daryl Ong for “Minamahal Pa Rin Ako” by Rolando Azor, and Jolina Magdangal for “Tama Lang” by Agatha and Melvin Morallos.

Here are the winners of Himig Handog 2016:

Best Song: Dalawang Letra

2nd Best Song: Monumento

3rd Best Song: Laban Pa

4th Best Song: Tama Lang

5th Best Song: Parang Tayo Pero Hindi

Star Music Listeners' Choice Award: Nyebe

Best Music Video Award: O Pag-ibig

Onemusic.ph favorite interpreter award: Bailey May and Ylona Garcia

MOR Choice Award: O Pag-ibig

TFC Global Choice Award: O Pag-ibig






Loading comments