MYX reveals nominees for this year’s Music Awards slated for March 15

The 2011 MYX Music Awards will take place on March 15, 2011 at the Music Museum in Greenhills, San Juan. Some of this year’s nominees are (top frame, from left) Yeng Constantino, Kean Cipriano of Callalily, Tutti Caringal of 6Cyclemind and R&B artist Quest. Raimund Marasigan (right), represented his band Sandwich, which was nominated for Favorite Artist, Favorite Rock Video, Favorite Music Video, and Favorite Group. The hosts of the press c

This year’s installment of MYX Music Awards will be a black and white affair.

Channel head Andre Alvarez made this revelation during a press conference held last Monday, February 7, at 9501 restaurant in ABS-CBN, Quezon City.

It would be interesting to see stars and musicians wear the so-called monochrome colors in an event dedicated into celebrating local music, said Alvarez.

The 2011 MYX Music Awards will be held on March 15 at the Music Museum in Greenhills, San Juan.

Musicians and artists will all slug it out to win the awards comprising the nineteen categories, including the celebrated Favorite Artist, Favorite Group, and Favorite Music Video honors.

"Well, definitely it’s an evening of recognition. Kung ano talaga ’yong mga nag-perform na music videos sa MYX. So I think this year we’re coming up with new ways to be able to present an award show that is still relevant and interesting to our viewers and to the artists themselves," Alvarez told PEP (Philippine Entertainment Portal).


"Basically, it’s a celebration of what local music is here in the Philippines right now and talagang pinagiisipan and pinagtatrabahuhan namin to come out with interesting and fun performances.

"At the same time, it’s an evening that will be a gathering of all these artists and talagang a celebration of what the local industry is all about."

Acknowledging the huge impact of Korean pop music or K-Pop even here in our shores, management has decided to add Favorite K-Pop Video in the categories this year.

Alvarez defended the inclusion of an award designed to recognize a foreign act.

"We can’t deny naman the popularity of K-Pop. So I think we should give them that kind of recognition... Sa ayaw at sa gusto natin meron talaga silang fan base and we could feel they really made their presence felt sa amin by their request, [on] how they harass us online about playing the music videos of their K-Pop idols. Siyempre hindi naman namin puwedeng i-disregard na lang ’yon," explained Alvarez.


MYX Music Awards remains to be an event created to champion Filipino music and artistry regardless of genre, classification, and even network affiliations.

"In reality, wala talaga kaming tinitingnan whether you’re from GMA or Channel 5, or ABS-CBN. At the same time, sa hirap ng takbo ng music industry natin the only thing for us to do is to be united and work together to make things better," mentioned Alvarez.

Below is the complete list of MYX Music Awards 2011 nominees:

Favorite Music Video
"Disney" - Tanya Markova
"Jeepney Love Story" - Yeng Constantino
"Kung Wala Na Nga" - 6cyclemind Feat. Kean Cipriano & Yeng Constantino
"Lakad" - Sandwich
"Liwanag" - Callalily

Favorite Song
"Cariño Brutal" - Slapshock
"Disney" - Tanya Markova
"Jeepney Love Story" - Yeng Constantino
"Kung Wala Na Nga" - 6cyclemind Feat. Kean Cipriano & Yeng Constantino
"Pakiusap Lang" - Parokya Ni Edgar

Favorite Artist
Christian Bautista
Parokya Ni Edgar
Yeng Constantino


Favorite Female Artist
KC Concepcion
Sarah Geronimo
Yeng Constantino

Favorite Male Artist
Billy Crawford
Christian Bautista
Piolo Pascual
Rico Blanco

Favorite Group
Parokya Ni Edgar

Favorite Mellow Video
"Di Lang Ikaw" - Juris
"I Remember The Girl" - Christian Bautista
"Not Like The Movies" - KC Concepcion
"Sino Nga Ba S’ya" - Sarah Geronimo
"You Don’t Know" - Regine Velasquez

Favorite Rock Video
"A Call To Arms" - Urbandub
"Alay" - Kamikazee
"Lakad" - Sandwich
"Neon Lights" - Rico Blanco
"What’s Your Poison" - Chicosci

Favorite Urban Video
"Back To Love" - Quest
"Can’t Get Enough" - Young Jv
"Fly With Me" - Duncan
"I Want You Back" - Krazykyle Feat. Luke Mejares
"Watchin’ Me" - Hi-C

Favorite New Artist
General Luna
Kiss Jane
Tanya Markova

Favorite Indie Artist
Mr. Bones
Techy Romantics
Turbo Goth


Favorite Collaboration
"Kung Wala Na Nga" - 6cyclemind Feat. Kean Cipriano & Yeng Constantino
"Martilyo" - Gloc-9 Feat. Letter Day Story
"Please Be Careful With My Heart" - Christian Bautista & Sarah Geronimo
"Simulan Na Natin" - Kenyo Feat. Hi-C
"You’ve Got A Friend" - Billy Crawford & Nikki Gil

Favorite Remake
"Beautiful Girl" - Christian Bautista
"Himala" - Jay-R
"Kung Wala Ka" - Nikki Gil
"Too Much Love Will Kill You" - Jovit Baldivino
"Yakap" - Ogie Alcasid

Favorite Media Soundtrack
"In Your Eyes" - Rachelle Ann Go (In Your Eyes)
"Kaya Mo" - Protein Shake Feat. Ney Dimaculangan & Kean Cipriano (RPG Metanoia)
"Kung Tayo’y Magkakalayo" - Gary Valenciano (Kung Tayo’y Magkakalayo)
"Love Will Keep Us Together" - Sarah Geronimo (Hating Kapatid)
"Miss You Like Crazy" - Erik Santos (Miss You Like Crazy)

Favorite Guest Appearance In A Music Video
Angel Locsin ("Magkaibang Mundo" - Hale)
Anne Curtis ("Breathe Again" - Chicosci)
Dingdong Dantes & Marian Rivera ("You Don’t Know" - Regine Velasquez)
Piolo Pascual ("Jeepney Love Story" - Yeng Constantino)
Richard Gutierrez ("Today I’ll See The Sun" - Frencheska Farr)


Favorite MYX Celebrity VJ
Aljur Abrenica
Parokya Ni Edgar
Sam Milby
Yeng Constantino

Favorite MYX Live Performance
Noel Cabangon
Tanya Markova
The CompanY

Favorite International Video
"Baby" - Justin Bieber Feat. Ludacris
"Just The Way You Are" - Bruno Mars
"Love The Way You Lie" - Eminem Feat. Rihanna
"Pyramid" - Charice Feat. Iyaz
"Telephone" - Lady Gaga Feat. Beyonce

Favorite K-Pop Video
"Beautiful" - Beast
"Bingeul Bingeul" - Ukiss
"Bonamana" - Super Junior
"Go Away" - 2ne1
"Run Devil Run" - Girls’ Generation

Viewers can cast their votes for their MYX Music Awards bet. Just text MMA and send to 2331 for Globe and Sun subscribers, 231 for Smart subscribers, P2.50/vote for Globe and Sun sunbscribers, P2/vote for Sun subscribers (Ex. MMA 1). Voting period started last February 7 and will end on March 7, 2011.


Loading comments