The 35th Catholic Mass Media Awards winners

In the 35th Catholic Mass Media Awards, the Rocco Nacino-starrer Bayan Ko won the Best Drama Series/Program award. Two programs of Jessica Soho were recognized: the Best News Magazine award went to Kapuso Mo Jessica Soho and the Best News Program award went to her State of the Nation with Jessica Soho. Meanwhile, Boy Abunda bagged the Best Talk Show award for The Bottomline with Boy Abunda.

Outstanding works in the fields of print, radio, film, and television were recognized during the 35th Catholic Mass Media Awards (CMMA) held last November 15 at the GSIS Theater in Pasay City.

Established in 1978, the CMMA aims to instill a sense of responsibility among communicators. This award-giving body pays tribute to “media products that enhance the human development of the Filipino audience through competent and professional use of media techniques.”

Among those who attended this year's awarding ceremony were Rocco Nacino, Jose Mari Chan, Gloc-9, and Denise Barbacena.

Rocco was the lead actor of GMA News TV Channel 11’s now ended Bayan Ko, which bagged the Best Drama Series/Program award.

GMA News TV’s in-depth primetime news program State of the Nation with Jessica Soho received the award for Best Newscast, while Poptalk with Tonipet Gaba took home the award as Best Children and Youth Program. Showbiz reality show Follow That Star won as Best Adult Educational Program, while travel show Biyahe ni Drew received a special citation in the Best Adult Educational category.

GMA Network’s Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho was recognized as the Best Magazine Show in the country; Pepito Manaloto won as Best Comedy Program, and the news coverage Habemus Papam took home Best Special Event Coverage.

GMA’s popular election advocacy anthem “Dapat Tama,” composed by Gloc9, won both for Best Secular Song and Best Music Video.

Meanwhile, ABS-CBN’s Saklolo and GMA News TV’s Investigative Documentaries tied for the category Best Public Service Program.

ABS-CBN took home awards in the television categories: Best TV Special for its documentary San Pedro Calungsod, Best Talk Show for The Bottomline with Boy Abunda, and Best Station ID for ABS-CBN TV7 Palawan’s Kwento Ng Pasko Christmas Station ID.

For radio, DZMM’s radio commentary program Failon Ngayon, anchored by veteran broadcast journalist Ted Failon, won the Best News Commentary award for the second consecutive year.


ABS-CBN Creative Communications Management was cited in the Best Public Service Radio Ad award for conceptualizing and producing the radio promo “DZMM Bantay Lakbay” that aired during the Holy Week in 2012.

Star Cinema’s 2013 blockbuster film It Takes a Man and a Woman, starring John Lloyd Cruz and Sarah Geronimo, was awarded the Students’ Choice for Best Film.

A special citation went to Flames of Love also for the category Student's Choice Award for Best Film.

In the music category, “Kuya Pedro,” a song written and performed by Jamie Rivera under Star Records honoring San Pedro Calungsod, won the Best Inspirational Song award.

The now defunct TV5 talent search Talentadong Pinoy bagged the award for Best Entertainment Program.

Here is the list of winners of the 35th Catholic Mass Media Awards:



Best News Magazine - Kapuso Mo Jessica Soho

Best Special Event Coverage - Habemus Papam

Best Comedy Program - Pepito Manaloto: Ang Tunay na Kuwento


Best Drama Series/Program - Bayan Ko

Best Public Service Program - Investigative Documentaries

Best News Program - State of the Nation with Jessica Soho

Best Children and Youth Program - Pop Talk

Best Adult/Educational/Cultural Program - Follow That Star


Best TV Special - San Pedro Calungsod

Best Public Service Program - Saklolo

Best Talk Show- The Bottom Line with Boy Abunda

ABS-CBN TV7 Palawan

Best Station ID- ABS-CBN Palawan Christmas Station ID

PTV 4/ TV Maria

Best Religious Program - Kasama Natin Ang Diyos


Best Entertainment Program - Talentadong Pinoy


Best Business News or Feature

Bombohanay Bigtime (DYWB Bombo Radyo Bacolod)

Best Educational Program
Ikaw Na Ba? (Super Radyo DZBB / GMA Network)

Best Counseling Program

Kahapon Lamang (DYWB Bombo Radyo Bacolod)

Best Entertainment Program

The Law of the Heart is Love (DWBR 104.3 FM / Philippine Broadcasting Service)


Best Public Service Program

Katumbas ay Biyaya (DZRH / MBC)

Best News Commentary

Failon Ngayon (DZMM 630 / ABS-CBN Corp.)

Best Drama Program

Radyo Balintataw (DZRH / MBC)

Best News Program

Bombo News and Views Morning Edition (DYFM Bombo Radyo Iloilo)


Best Inspirational Album

Going Home to Christmas (Jose Mari Chan / Signature Music Inc)

Best Inspirational Song

Kuya Pedro (Jamie Rivera / Star Recording Inc)

Best Secular Album

Going Home to Christmas (Jose Mari Chan / Signature Music Inc)

Best Secular Song

“Christmas Moments” (Jose Mari Chan and various artists / Signature Music Inc)

“Dapat Tama” (Gloc-9 and Denise Barbacena / GMA Network Inc)

Best Music Video

Dapat Tama (Gloc-9 and Denise Barbacena / GMA Network Inc)


Students’ Choice Award for Best Film

It Takes a Man and a Woman (Star Cinema)

Best Short Film

Kun Untani Man (If Ever) (De La Salle University)


Best Branded TV Ad

Kapuso Mini-Sine: Gustin (Champion Detergent / GMA Marketing & Productions Inc)

Best Inspirational Song

“Ang Pananalig” (Geli Federoso / Jesuit Communications Foundation)

Best Music Video

St. Pedro Calungsod (Harry Santos / Power to Unite Family Bible Group Inc)

Best Adult Educational / Cultural Program

Biyahe ni Drew GMA News TV Channel 11

Radio Special Citations:

Best Educational Program

Magbago Tayo Radyo Singko 92.3 NEWS FM / TV5

Best Counseling Program

Kahapon Lamang Program DYFM Bombo Radyo Iloilo

Cinema Special Citation:

Student’s Choice Award for Best Film

Flames of Love Gold Barn Media International





Loading comments