Lorna Tolentino, Michael V, Saksi highly commended in 18th Asian Television Awards

In the 18th Asian Television Awards, Lorna Tolentino was highly commended for Best Actress for her lead role in Pahiram ng Sandali. Michael V of Bubble Gang was highly commended in the Best Comedy Performance by an Actor category.

Lorna Tolentino, Michael V, and GMA-7's late-night newscast Saksi were highly commended in their respective categories in the 18th Asian Television Awards (ATA).

The Asian TV Awards ceremony took place last night, December 5, at Resorts World Sentosa, Singapore.

The ATA aims to honor excellence in programming, production, and performance in the region.

Lorna Tolentino was highly commended for Best Actress for her lead role in the Kapuso primetime series, Pahiram ng Sandali.

Marian Rivera was also nominated as Best Actress for Temptation of Wife, but Lorna and Marian both lost to Taiwan’s Jade Chou (Falling).

In her Instagram account, Marian posted a photo of her with this caption (published as is):

"Thank you Asian tv awards for the nomination. Coming here to represent the show i am proud of is something more than a perfect reward for the love and effort we all put in our work. This is such a geat experience. Congrats to all the winners."

Bubble Gang mainstay Michael V, on the other hand, was highly commended for Best Comedy Performance by an Actor.

The trophy went to Chua En Lai of Singapore.

Saksi's entry titled "Typhoon Pablo's Trail of Death" was highly commended in the Best News Program category.

It lost to Hong Kong's News Magazine, which covered the October 1 Maritime Tragedy.

Kris Aquino was the lone Filipino nominated in the Best Entertainment Presenter/Host category for ABS-CBN's morning show Kris TV.

In her Instagram account, Kris shared a photo of her presenting an award onstage.

"Hindi sinwerte, but at least got to mount the stage. Congratulations Thailand, they won the Best Entertainment Presenter trophy," she posted as a caption.

Phanya Nirunkul of Thai show Ching Roi Ching Larn Sunshing Day won in the Best Entertainment Presenter/Host category.

Through Instagram, Kris also shared a photo of her with Marian Rivera and other Filipino nominees.


Kris posted this as the caption of her photo: "Fellow Pinoy nominees, Vicky Morales for Saksi, @therealmarian for Temptation of Wife, and Mike Enriquez for 24 Oras. #proudPinoys"

In another Instagram post, Kris congratulated her fellow nominees this year.

The TV host-actress listed those who were highly commended and posted this caption:

"No Filipino brought home the trophy tonight, but these commendations are certainly worthy of Pinoy Pride. #nonetworkwar Let's celebrate being Filipino, right @therealmarian? Congrats Ate @lornatolentinof! Sana nag attend ka. Nice to have chatted w/ you Sir Mike Enriquez, kilig to know your wife regularly watches #kristv. Great to see you Vicky Morales. Good Night."

The other nominees from the Philippines were 24 Oras: Bagyong Pablo (Typhoon Pablo) for Best News Programme; Reporter's Notebook: Bagyong Pablo (Typhoon Pablo) for Best Current Affairs Programme; and Born Impact: When Whales Strand for Best Natural History or Wildlife Programme.

ABS-CBN's reality talent search The X Factor Philippines was also nominated in the Best Reality Show category.

According to its official website, an expert panel of 50 judges from across the region determine the winners for The Asian Television Awards.

Read related article: Marian Rivera, Lorna Tolentino, Kris Aquino, Michael V. score nominations at Asian TV Awards 2013





Loading comments