Coco Martin and Kim Chiu win acting honors at Star Awards for TV; Kathniel named Power Love Team

Ikaw Lamang stars swept acting awards at the 28th Star Awards for TV. Coco Martin and Kim Chiu (left frame) were named as Best Actor and Best Actress in the Drama category. Meanwhile, Daniel Padilla and Kathryn Bernardo were chosen as the Power Love Team.

ABS-CBN was chosen as the Best TV Station this year. This was announced last night, November 22, during the awards night of the 28th Star Awards for Television.

Organized by the Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC), the awarding ceremony was held at the Grand Ballroom of the Solaire Resort and Casino.

Kathryn Bernardo and Daniel Padilla, more popularly known as Kathniel, was named as the Power Love Team. They personally received their trophy from German Moreno last night.

Coco Martin and Kim Chiu, the lead stars of Ikaw Lamang, were named as Best Actor and Best Actress in the Drama category.

Coco was able to beat Gerald Anderson (Bukas Na Lang Kita Mamahalin), Dingdong Dantes (Ang Dalawang Mrs. Real), Enchong Dee (Muling Buksan ang Puso), Gabby Eigenmann (Dading), Kristoffer Martin (Kahit Nasaan Ka Man), Jericho Rosales (The Legal Wife), and Miguel Tanfelix (Niño).

On the other hand, Kim was chosen over Bea Alonzo (Sana Bukas Pa Ang Kahapon), Angel Locsin (The Legal Wife), Lovi Poe (Ang Dalawang Mrs. Real), Maja Salvador (The Legal Wife), Maricel Soriano (Ang Dalawang Mrs. Real), and Dawn Zulueta (Bukas Na Lang Kita Mamahalin).

Their Ikaw Lamang co-stars John Estrada and KC Concepcion were named Best Drama Supporting Actor and Actress, respectively, at the 28th Star Awards for TV.

The awards night also honored emerging talents who have shown promise in the field of acting.

Lyca Gairando is best known as the winner of The Voice Kids but she was recognized for her dramatic skills when she won in the Best New Female Personality. Lyca portrayed herself in the Maalaala Mo Kaya (MMK) episode depicting her life story.

Meanwhile, the Best New Male Personality Award went to former Pinoy Big Brother All In housemate Manolo Pedrosa. He bagged the award for starring in the MMK episode wherein he portrayed Hiro Mallari, the boyfriend of one of the victims in the Bulacan State University field trip tragedy.

Raikko Mateo, the lead star of Honesto, was chosen as Best Child Performer this year.

(To view the list of nominees, CLICK HERE)

GMA-7's comedy show Bubble Gang won the award for Best Gag Show 15 times already in the past, which prompted the PMPC to induct the show to its Hall of Fame.

Mike Enriquez of the Kapuso Network was this year's recipient of the Excellence In Broadcasting Lifetime Achievement Award.

Nova Villa was this year's recipient of the Ading Fernando Lifetime Achivement Award.

Here is the list of winners at the 28th Star Awards for TV:

Best TV Station ABS-CBN
Best Drama Actor Coco Martin (Ikaw Lamang/ABS-CBN)
Best Drama Actress Kim Chiu (Ikaw Lamang/ABS-CBN)
Best Drama Supporting Actor John Estrada (Ikaw Lamang/ABS-CBN)
Best Drama Supporting Actress KC Concepcion (Ikaw Lamang/ABS-CBN)
Best Single Performance by an Actor (tie)
Arjo Atayde (Maalaala Mo Kaya: "Dos Por Dos" / ABS-CBN)
Jose Manalo (Eat Bulaga! Lenten special: "Hulog ng Langit" / GMA-7)
Best Single Performance by an Actress Sunshine Cruz
Best Daytime Drama Series Be Careful With My Heart
Best Primetime Show Ikaw Lamang
Best Drama Anthology Magpakailanman
Best Variety Show It's Showtime (ABS-CBN)
Best Musical Variety Show ASAP
Best Male TV Host Vice Ganda
Best Female TV Host Toni Gonzaga
Best Celebrity Talk Show Gandang Gabi Vice (ABS-CBN)
Best Celebrity Talk Show Vice Ganda (ABS-CBN)
Best Showbiz-Oriented Talk Show The Buzz (ABS-CBN)
Best Male Showbiz-Oriented Talk Show Host Ricky Lo (GMA-7)
Best Female Showbiz-Oriented Talk Show Host Toni Gonzaga (ABS-CBN)
Best Talent Search Celebrity Dance Battle (TV5)
Best Talent Show Host Alex Gonzaga and Luis Manzano of The Voice Kids (ABS-CBN)
Best New Female Personality Lyca Gairanod for Maalaala Mo Kaya (ABS-CBN)
Best New Male Personality Manolo Pedrosa for Maalaala Mo Kaya (ABS-CBN)
Best Child Performer Raikko Mateo (Honesto)
Best Reality Show It Takes Gutz to be a Gutierrez
Best Reality Show Host Toni Gonzaga, Bianca Gonzales, Robi Domingo for Pinoy Big Brother All In
Best Public Affairs Program Bottomline with Boy Abunda (ABS-CBN)
Best News Program State of the Nation (GMA News TV)
Best Male Newscaster Erwin Tulfo (Aksyon/TV5)
Best Female Newscaster Jessica Soho (State of the Nation/ GMA News TV)
Best Public Affairs Program Host Boy Abunda (ABS-CBN)
Best Public Service Program T3 (TV5)
Best Public Service Program Host Vicky Morales for Wish Ko Lang (GMA-7)
Best Game Show Celebrity Bluff (GMA-7)
Best Game Show Host Judy Ann Santos for Bet On Your Baby (ABS-CBN)
Best Documentary Special Yolanda
Best Documentary Program I-Witness (GMA-7)
Best Documentary Program Host I-Witness (GMA-7)
Best Comedy Show Home Sweetie Home (ABS-CBN)
Best Gag Show Goin' Bulilit (ABS-CBN)
Best Comedy Actor Sef Cadayona (GMA-7)
Best Comedy Actress Rufa Mae Quinto (GMA-7)
Best Morning Show Umagang Kay Ganda (ABS-CBN)
Best Morning Show Host Umagang Kay Ganda (ABS-CBN)
Best Youth-Oriented Show LUV U (ABS-CBN)
Best Lifestyle Show Gandang Ricky Reyes
Best Lifestyle Show Host Kris Aquino (ABS-CBN)
Best Magazine Show iJuander (GMA News TV)
Best Magazine Show Host iJuander (GMA News TV)
Best Travel Show Byahe ni Drew (GMA News TV)
Best Travel Show Host Aga Muhlach for Pinoy Explorer (TV5)
Best Educational Show Born To Be Wild (GMA-7) / Matanglawin (ABS-CBN)
Best Educational Show Host Kim Atienza for Matanglawin (ABS-CBN)
Best Children Show Tropang Potchi (GMA-7)
Best Children Show Host Tropang Potchi (GMA-7)


Hall of Fame Award Bubble Gang

Excellence In Broadcasting Lifetime Achievement Award Mike Enriquez

Ading Fernando Lifetime Achivement Award Nova Villa

Power Love Team Award Kathryn Bernardo and Daniel Padilla

Male Star of the Night Iñigo Pascual

Female Star of the Night Nadine Lustre






Loading comments