13th Gawad Tanglaw winners for TV and Radio announced; Angel Locsin and Julia Montes tied for Best Actress

Angel Locsin (left frame) and Julia Montes (right frame) are the Best Actress winners in the 13th Gawad Tanglaw. Meanwhile, Piolo Pascual, Coco Martin and Martin Escudero tied as Best Actors in the award-giving body comprised of members of the academe.

ABS-CBN has been chosen as the TV station of the Year by Gawad TANGLAW, an award-giving body composed of members of the academe.

Now on its 13th year, Gawad TANGLAW (Gawad Tagapuring mga Akademisyan ng Aninong Gumagalaw) hands out trophies to outstanding movies, TV shows, and radio shows annually.

This group of academicians also chose DZMM - AM (630) as Radio Station of the Year.

DZMM Radyo Patrol (630) also emerged as the Best AM Station while Yes FM (101.1) was chosen as the Best FM Station.

In the Television category, Angel Locsin and Julia Montes tied for the Best Actress award.

Angel was cited for her portrayal of a scorned wife in The Legal Wife while Julia won for bringing life to a loyal friend and secret admirer in Ikaw Lamang.

Piolo Pascual, Coco Martin and Martin Escudero tied as Best Actors in the 13th Gawad Tanglaw.

Kapamilya stars Piolo is the lead actor of Hawak Kamay while Coco was also recognized for the multi-generation drama series Ikaw Lamang.

TV5 actor Martin Escudero was recognized for playing an HIV patient in Positive.

In the film category, the top acting awards went to Nora Aunor and Angelica Panganiban as well as Allen Dizon.

(Read: 13th Gawad Tanglaw winners unveiled; Angelica Panganiban, Nora Aunor, Allen Dizon, Gretchen Barretto and Richard Gomez win acting awards)

Here is the list of winners for the 13th Gawad Tanglaw in the TV category:


  1. Best News Program
  • Aksyon (TV5)
  1. Best News Program Anchor (Male)
  • Lourd De Veyra - Aksyon sa Umaga (TV5)

3. Best News Program Anchor (Female)

  • Luchi Cruz Valdez – Aksyon (TV5)
  • Bernadette Sembrano - Dateline Philippines (ANC)

4. Best Educational Program

  • IBilib (GMA-7)

5. Best Public Affairs Program

  • Reaksyon (TV5)

6. Best Public Service Program

  • T3 Enforced (TV5)

7. Best Documentary Program

  • I-Witness (GMA-7)

8. Best Investigative Program

  • Scene of the Crime Operatives (SOCO) - (ABS-CBN)

9. Best Comedy / Gag Show

  • Pepito Manaloto (GMA-7)

10. Best Morning Program

  • Good Morning Kuya (UNTV)
  • Aksyon sa Umaga ( TV5 )

11. Best Game Show

  • Who Wants To Be a Millionaire (TV5)

12. Best Variety Show

  • It’s Showtime (ABS-CBN)

13. Best Showbiz Oriented Talk Show

  • The Buzz (ABS-CBN)

14. Best Magazine Show

  • Green Living (ANC)

15. Best Reality / Talent Show

  • Talentadong Pinoy (TV5)
  • The Voice of the Philippines Season 2 (ABS-CBN)

16. Best Drama Anthology

  • Maalaala Mo Kaya (ABS-CBN)

17. Best TV Series

  • Forevermore (ABS-CBN)
  • Ikaw Lamang (ABS-CBN)

18. Best Performance by an Actor (TV Series)

  • Piolo Pascual - Hawak- Kamay (ABS-CBN)
  • Coco Martin - Ikaw Lamang (ABS-CBN)
  • Martin Escudero - Positive (TV5)

19. Best Performance by an Actress (TV Series)

  • Julia Montes - Ikaw Lamang (ABS-CBN)
  • Angel Locsin - The Legal Wife (ABS-CBN)

20. Best Performance by an Actor (Single Performance)

  • Keempee De Leon - “Kulungan, Kanlungan” (The Eat Bulaga Lenten Special) (GMA-7)

21. Best Performance by an Actress (Single Performance)

  • Xyriel Manabat - “Salamin” (Maalaala Mo Kaya) (ABS-CBN)

22. TV Station of the Year


23. Special Awards:

Natatanging Gawad sa TV- Edukasyon

  • Hawak- Kamay (ABS-CBN)

Natatanging Gawad sa TV- Patalastas


* Gabay- Guro- Tribute / Homage to Teachers- PLDT Smart Foundation

Developmental Communication Award for Comprehensive Coverage

  • Pope of the Century (April 19, 2014) (ABS-CBN)
  • Saint John Paul II : We Love You: The Canonization of John Paul II and John XXIII - A GMA News Special Coverage (April 25-27, 2014) (GMA7)

2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup Sports Coverage

(August 30-September 15, 2014) (TV5)


Tirso Cruz III


1. Best Radio DJ

  • DJ Delamar ( RX 93.1)

2. Best Radio Anchor (Male)

  • Vic De Leon Lima - “Pasada Sais Trenta” (DZMM)

3. Best Radio Anchor (Female)

  • Cory Quirino - “MaBeauty Po Naman” (DZMM)

4. Best AM Station

  • DZMM Radyo Patrol (630)

5. Best FM Station

  • Yes FM (101.1)

6. Radio Station of the Year

  • DZMM – AM (630)

7. Special Award:


Atty. Romulo Makalintal (DZMM)


Loading comments