32nd Star Awards for TV winners revealed; ASAP joins MMK, Eat Bulaga, Bubble Gang in Hall of Fame

Here are the winners of the 32nd PMPC Star Awards for TV 2018:
Alden Richards reveals why Maine Mendoza could not accept her trophy at the 2018 Star Awards for TV: "Hindi po siya makakapunta dahil may tinatapos po siyang movie."

Alden Richards and Maine Mendoza marked another milestone in their career by winning in the 32nd Star Awards for Television.

The AlDub loveteam was honored separately during the Star Awards for TV awards night held on October 14, 2018, at the Henry Lee Irwin Theater, Ateneo de Manila University.

Alden was named Best Male TV Host while Maine was chosen as the Best Female TV Host for the GMA-7 noontime show Eat Bulaga.

"This is my first award as a host kaya I thank Eat Bulaga for the opportunity," said Alden when he personally received his trophy during the Gabi ng Parangal organized by the Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC).

When Alden received the award for Maine, he told the crowd: "In behalf of Maine, I would like to accept this award. Hindi po siya makakapunta dahil may tinatapos po siyang movie."

ABS-CBN star Kim Chiu won the Best Single Performance by an Actress Award for her Ipaglaban Mo episode wherein she portrayed an OFW fighting for the custody of her child.


Kim Chiu personally accepted her trophy and pointed out, "First time ko mag-Ipaglaban Mo, nakasungkit pa ako."

Another first-timer was Best Drama Supporting Actor winner Gabby Eigenmann. He was recognized for his GMA-7 show Contessa.

Gabby admitted in his speech, "Alam niyo po ba sa tinagal-tagal ko sa industriya nominated ako, pero ngayon lang ako nanalo ng award."

(For the record, Gabby won Teleserye Actor of the Year for his performance in Dading at The PEP List in 2015.)

Julia Barretto received the award of rumored boyfriend Joshua Garcia, who tied with Jerome Ponce for Best Drama Actor. Both were honored for their performances in The Good Son.

She said, "I'm proudly receiving this award for Joshua. For sure, tuwang tuwa siya sa award na ito. Parang ako nanalo ng award, bakit ako natataranta."

Yasmien Kurdi was named Best Drama Actress for the Kapuso series Hindi Ko Kayang Iwan Ka. She dedicated her award to all those with HIV.


The German Moreno Power Tandem of the Year went to Ang Probinsyano stars Yassi Pressman and Coco Martin.

Yassi expressed her gratitude by saying, "Maraming salamat sa Viva, ang management ko na unang nagtiwala sa akin. Sa ABS-CBN, sa Dreamscape na nagbigay ng chance sa 'kin.

"Wala si Coco ngayon kasi may shoot po siya ngayon. Salamat sa patuloy na pagsuporta kina Cardo at Alyana."

Boy Abunda quipped in his acceptance speech: "Welcome to Tonight with Arnold Clavio! Joke lang. It's nice to see na nagkikita tayo sa ganitong okasyon."

The host of Tonight With Boy Abunda was named Best Celebrity Talk Show Host and his program won the Best Celebrity Talk Show Award.

ABS-CBN's ASAP has already bagged 15 awards in the Best Musical Variety Show category.

For this reason, it has been inducted into the Hall of Fame, allowing it to join other Hall of Famers such as Maalaala Mo Kaya (Best Drama Anthology), Bubble Gang (Best Gag Show), Eat Bulaga (Best Variety Show), and Boy Abunda (Best Male Showbiz Oriented Talk Show Host).


Here are the winners of the 32nd PMPC Star Awards for Television 2018:

Special Award: PMPC Star Awards Hall Of Fame: ASAP
Ading Fernando Lifetime Achievement Award: Quezon City Mayor Herbert Bautista (received by Harlene Bautista)
News and Public Affair Excellence Broadcasting Lifetime Achievement Award: Arnold Clavio
German Moreno Power Tandem of the Year: Yassi Pressman and Coco Martin
Best Drama Actor (tie): Jerome Ponce and Joshua Garcia, The Good Son, ABS-CBN
Best Drama Actress: Yasmien Kurdi, Hindi Ko Kayang Iwan Ka, GMA-7
Best Variety Show: Sunday Pinasaya, GMA-7
Best Musical Variety Show: Letters in Music, Net 25
Best Male TV Host: Alden Richards, Eat Bulaga, GMA-7
Best Female TV Host: Maine Mendoza, Eat Bulaga, GMA-7
Best Single Performance by an Actor (tie): James Blanco for Maalaala Mo Kaya and Ruru Madrid for Magpakailanman
Best Single Performance by an Actress: Kim Chiu, Ipaglaban Mo, ABS-CBN
Best Drama Supporting Actor: Gabby Eigenmann, Contessa
Best Drama Supporting Actress (tie): Lorna Tolentino for Asintado and Kyline Alcantara for Kambal Karibal
Male and Female Face of the Night: Yassi Pressman and Ken Chan
Male Star of the Night: Greg Hawkins
Female Star of the Night: Julia Barretto
Male and Female Celebrity Star of the Night: Ken Chan and Tori Garcia
Glupa Glowing Guy of the Night: McCoy De Leon
Glupa Glowing Gal: Heaven Peralejo
Best Gag Show: Goin' Bulilit, ABS-CBN
Best Comedy Show: Pepito Manaloto, GMA-7
Best Comedy Actor: Ogie Alcasid, Home Sweetie Home, ABS-CBN
Best Comedy Actress: Rufa Mae Quinto, Home Sweetie Home, ABS-CBN
Best Horror/Fantasy Program: Wansapanataym, ABS-CBN
Best Daytime Drama Series: Contessa, GMA-7
Best Drama Anthology: Ipaglaban Mo, ABS-CBN
Best Primetime TV Series: The Good Son, ABS-CBN
Best Public Affairs Program: The Bottomline, ABS-CBN
Best Public Affairs Program Host: Boy Abunda, The Bottomline, ABS-CBN
Best Public Service Program: Healing Galing, TV5
Best Public Service Program Host: Vicky Morales, Wish Ko Lang, GMA-7
Best News Program: TV Patrol, ABS-CBN
Best Male Newscaster: Raffy Tima, Balitanghali, GMA News TV
Best Female Newscaster: Bernadette Sembrano, TV Patrol, ABS-CBN
Best Child Performer: Seth Dela Cruz, Hindi Ko Kayang Iwan Ka, GMA-7
Best New Male TV Personality: Kendoll, Eat Bulaga, GMA-7
Best New Female TV Personality: Heaven Peralejo, Wansapanataym, ABS-CBN
Best Travel Show: G-Diaries, ABS-CBN
Best Travel Show Host: Gina Lopez, G Diaries, ABS-CBN
Best Lifestyle Show: The World of Gandang Ricky, GMA News TV
Best Lifestyle Show Host: Ricky Reyes, GMA News TV
Best Talent Search Program Show Host: Luis Manzano, I Can See Your Voice, ABS-CBN
Best Magazine Show: Kapuso Mo Jessica Soho, GMA-7
Best Magazine Show Host: Korina Sanchez, Rated K, ABS-CBN
Best Celebrity Talk Show: Tonight With Boy Abunda, ABS-CBN
Best Celebrity Talk Show Host: Boy Abunda, TWBA, ABS-CBN
Best Children’s Show: Homework, Net25
Best Children’s Show Host: from Homework, Net25
Best Educational Program: Matanglawin, ABS-CBN
Best Educational Program Host: Kim Atienza, Matanglawin, ABS-CBN
Best Morning Show: Umagang Kay Ganda, ABS-CBN
Best Morning Show Host: Unang Hirit, GMA-7
Best Documentary Program: i-Witness, GMA-7
Best Documentary Special: Paglayang Minamahal, ABS-CBN


Read Next
PEP Live
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
Alden Richards reveals why Maine Mendoza could not accept her trophy at the 2018 Star Awards for TV: "Hindi po siya makakapunta dahil may tinatapos po siyang movie."
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the PEP.ph editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results