Unofficial list: Films aiming to be MMFF 2016 entries

by Mell T. Navarro
Nov 1, 2016

Ayon sa iba’t ibang sources ng PEP, at least 21 filmmakers ang nag-submit ng kanilang Letter of Intent noong July para maging possible entry sa 2016 Metro Manila Film Festival.

Ngunit hindi pa sigurado kung ang lahat ng mga nag-submit ng Letter of Intent ay aabot sa November 2, 2016.

Imbis na October 31 ang deadline, na-move to November 2 ang deadline dahil sa holiday na na-declare noong Lunes.

Nagkaroon rin ng announcement ang MMFF Executive Committee na tatanggapin nila ang submissions na nasa "Picture Lock" stage.

Sa isang exclusive interview with PEP (Philippine Entertainment Portal), pinaliwanag ng MMFF Exe Com member na si Moira Lang kung ano ang ibig sabihin ng "Picture Lock" stage ng isang pelikula.

Nagkaroon rin ng new member sa selection committee dahil nag backout si Sid Lucero.

(Read: Sid Lucero backs out from MMFF 2016 competition committee; gets replacement)

Narito ang announcement ng MMFF sa official Facebook page nito last October 26:

"Please be informed that the MMFF will accept entries for full-length films that are finished up to Picture Lock stage until November 2, 2016 (next working day after October 31).

"The producers of the chosen eight (8) finalists will be allowed to make enhancements, i.e sound design, score, grading, and VFX, to their films. However, any revision to a film's edit after it has been selected will result in the disqualification from the festival."

Take note na ito ay UNOFFICIAL list since MMFF won't reveal the actual films, dahil sa confidentiality.

In alphabetical order now (according to film title):

1. ACROSS THE CRESCENT MOON (Gold Barn International) 

Cast: Matteo Guidicelli, Christopher de Leon, Dina Bonnevie, Gabby Concepcion, Sandy Andolong, Joem Bascon, and introducing Alex Godinez (Matteo’s leading lady)

Written, produced and directed by Baby Nebrida

2. ANG BABAE SA SEPTIC TANK PART 2: FOREVER IS NOT ENOUGH (Martinez Rivera Films and Quantum Films in association with TBA) 

Cast: Eugene Domingo, Jericho Rosales, Joel Torre, Agot Isidro, Cai Cortez, Kean Cipriano, Khalil Ramos

Written by Chris Martinez, directed by Marlon Rivera

3. DIE BEAUTIFUL (The IdeaFirst Company)

Cast: Paolo Ballesteros, Luis Alandy, Gladys Reyes, Albie Casino, Lou Veloso, Inah De Belen, IC Mendoza, Christian Bables, and Joel Torre, among others.

Written and directed by Jun Robles Lana

4. ENTENG KABISOTE 10 AND THE ABANGERS (Octo Arts Films, MZet Films, APT Entertainment)

Cast: Vic Sotto, Alden Richards, Maine Mendoza, Jose Manalo, Wally Bayola, Paolo Ballesteros, Oyo Sotto, Ryza Cenon, Bea Binene, Jeffrey Quizon, Atak, Ryzza Mae Dizon, Ken Chan, Kakai Bautista, Jerald Napoles, and Alonzo Muhlach

Directed by Marlon Rivera and Tony Y. Reyes

5. EXTRA SERVICE (Star Cinema)

Cast: Coleen Garcia, Arci Munoz, and Jessy Mendiola, with Ejay Falcon, Vin Abrenica, Enzo Pineda

Written by Alpha Habon, directed by Chris Martinez

6. HIGANTI (Gitana Films Production) 

Cast: Assunta de Rossi, Jay Manalo, Meg Imperial, Katrina Halili, and Jon Lucas, with Alwyn Uytingco, DJ Durano, Daniel Pasia, and Kiko Matos, etc.

Written by Susan Lara, Mario Mendez, Jr., Bimbo Papasin, Esmeralda Cortez, and Rommel Ricafort

Directed by Rommel Ricafort


Cast: Nora Aunor, Ricky Davao, JC De Vera, Jason Abalos, Victor Neri, Perla Bautista, Ces Quesada, RJ Agustin, Ronwaldo Martin, and Kiko Matos

Written by Real Florido; directed by Real Florido and Arturo “Boy” San Agustin

8. KITA KITA (Spring Films)

Cast: Alessandra De Rossi and Empoy

Written and directed by Sigrid Andrea Bernardo


Cast: Martin Escudero, Brenda Mage, JC Santos, Ruby Ruiz

Producer is Angela Cortez; screenwriter, executive producer, and director is Jason Orlafas

10. MANG KEPWENG RETURNS (Cineko Productions, one of the producers is Ramon Salvador) 

Cast: Vhong Navarro, Jaclyn Jose, Kim Domingo, James Blanco, Sunshine Cruz, Valeen Montenegro, Ahron Villena, Juancho Trivino, and Louise delos Reyes

Written by Volta delos Santos, directed by GB Sampedro.

11. MANO PO 7: CHINOY (Regal Entertainment)

Cast: Richard Yap, Jean Garcia, Jessy Mendiola, Jake Cuenca, Enchong Dee, and Janella Salvador

Written by Senedy Que, directed by Ian Lorenos

12. MOONLIGHT OVER BALER (T-Rex Productions)

Cast: Elizabeth Oropesa, Vin Abrenica, Sofie Albert, and Ellen Adarna, also with Daria Ramirez, Aaron Yanga, Angie Ferro and more

Written by Eric Ramos, directed by Gil Portes

13. SUPER PARENTAL GUARDIANS which had the working title: PAK GANERN, GO! (Star Cinema)

Cast: Vice Ganda and Coco Martin, with Simon Pineda (aka Onyok) and Mcneal Briguela (aka Aura)

Directed by Joyce Bernal

14. PASTOR -- Phillip Salvador, Gina Alajar, Jason Abalos, Janine Gutierrez, Mark Neumann, and Rosanna Roces

Directed by Adolfo Borinaga Alix Jr.

15. PUSIT (Blank Pages Productions for Pantomina Films Production)

Cast: Jay Manalo, Elizabeth Oropesa, Kristofer King, Ronnie Quizon, Rolando Inocencio, Lehner Mendoza, Mike Liwag, Joel Saracho, and Angelina Kanapi.

Produced, written, and directed by Arlyn Dela Cruz


Cast: Rhian Ramos, Enzo Marcos, TJ Trinidad

Directed by Avid Liongoren

17. SEKLUSYON (Reality Entertainment)

Cast: Dominic Roque, Ronnie Alonte (of Hashtag), John Vic De Guzman (volleyball player), and JR Versales (model), with Neil Ryan Sese, Lou Veloso, Elora Espao, Phoebe Walker, and Rhed Bustamante

Written by Anton Santamaria, with Dondon Monteverde as executive producer, directed by Erik Matti


This documentary-drama is written and directed by Babyruth Villarama-Gutierrez

19. SWIPE (Ailud Entertainment)

Cast: Mercedes Cabral, Luis Alandy, Gabby Eigenmann, Alex Medina, Alvin Anson, Maria Isabel Lopez, and Meg Imperial

Written and directed by Ed Lejano

20. TATLONG BIBE (Regis Films)

Cast: child performers Lyca Gairanod, Marco Masa, and Raikko Matteo, with Angel Aquino, Eddie Garcia, Rita Avila, Victor Neri, Ronnie Lazaro, Edgar Allan Guzman, Dionisia Pacquiao, Sharlene San Pedro, and Ms. Anita Linda

Written and directed by Joven Tan

21. TOKHANG - a comedy film

Continue reading below ↓

Cast: Leo Martinez and K Brosas

22. NOTHING BUT THE BESTS (Idol Tap Productions) – a romantic comedy

Cast: John Feir, Sachzna Laparan, Jeri Vega Oro (Pilipinas Got Talent), Eisen Lim, Phoebe Walker, Gepoy Tauson (That’s My Bae), Kevin Macatangay, Roadfill, Ella San Andres

Written by Roadfill and David Rodney Rodney, directed by Roadfill (of Moymoy Palaboy)

23. OROS – a horror film

Directed by Alvin Yapan

Cast: Joem Bascon  

May nabawas na rin na members ng MMFF Execom since pinakilala sila last July sa grand launch ng 42nd edition ng MMFF.

Wala na si Teodoro Granados ng Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP), formerly headed by Briccio Santos na pinalitan na ni Liza Dino-Seguerra.

“Si Sir Ted was Sir Briccio's Executive Director, so I think his term ended together with Sir Briccio's,” paliwanag ni Moira Lang, film producer na bahagi rin ng Exe Com.

Bukod kay Moira, ang iba pang nasa MMFF 2016 Executive Committee ay sina:

Wilson Tieng (President, MPDAP), Boots Anson-Rodrigo (MOWELFUND President), Jessie Ejercito (film producer), Thomas Orbos (MMDA Chairman), Edward Cabagnot (Academe Representative), Senator Sonny Angara, Quezon City Congressman Alfred Vargas, Marcus Ng (Vice President of MMTA), Edgar Tejerero (President of SM Lifestyle Entertainment, Inc.), Jun Romana (Bureau of Broadcast Services), and PCSupt Oscar Albayalde (the incumbent NCRPO).

Continue reading below ↓
Read Next
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results