PhilPop 2015 winners revealed; Nadine Lustre and Kean Cipriano earned People's Choice Award

Nadine Lustre and Kean Cipriano's interpretation of "Sa Ibang Mundo" earned the People's Choice Award at Philpop 2015. In his Instagram account, Kean shared this photo and posted this caption: "2nd Runner up!! SA IBANG MUNDO!!! Congrats to the songwriter Mark Villar!! And i would like to thank this awesome girl for giving it all tonight!! Solid yon @nadzlustre!! Priceless!! Salamat PHILPOP 2015!! At sa lahat ng sumusuporta sa musikang Pinoy!!"

The music tandem of Thyro Alfaro & Yumi Lacsamana once again emerged as the grand winner of Philpop.

The winners received the coveted Ramon Orlina trophy during the 4th Philippine Popular Music Festival awards night held earlier tonight, July 25, at the Meralco Theater.

Thyro and Yumi were joined onstage by balladeer Jeric Medina to interpret their song "Triangulo."

This song about a woman torn between two lovers won the top prize this year.

In 2013, Thyro and Yumi won the Grand Prize in Philpop for the song “Dati,” interpreted by Sam Concepcion and Tippy Dos Santos.

For the first time in the four-year history of Philpop, an award was given to honor the Best Music Video among the 12 finalists.

This went to Johann Garcia's "Edge of the World," which was interpreted by Josh Padilla and Yassi Pressman.

Mark Bautista and Bela Padilla served as the hosts of this musical extravaganza that is aired on delayed telecast on TV5.

In a rare occasion, perennial partners James Reid and Nadine Lustre were pitted against each other.

James was tapped to interpret the upbeat "Musikaw" while Nadine Lustre teamed up with Kean Cipriano for the song "Sa Ibang Mundo."

Host Mark Bautista asked the crowd: "Paano 'yan? Si James Reid ang nag-perform kanina. Ngayon, si Nadine naman. Paano na ang mga Jadine fans?!"

Bela pointed out, "I'm sure nahihirapan ang JaDine fans."

As it turned out, Nadine and Kean earned the People's Choice award for their performance of "Sa Ibang Mundo."

When PEP (Philippine Entertainment Portal) had the chance to interview James after the awarding, he said that he and Nadine do not have competition between the two of them.

James and Nadine will soon topbill ABS-CBN's upcoming teleserye titled On The Wings of Love.

(View gallery: James Reid says "Yes" to Nadine Lustre's proposal in trailer of On The Wings of Love)

The Top 12 songs were chosen from over 2,500 submissions from the Philippines, the United States, Canada, Australia, the Middle East and other Southeast Asian countries.

The songs that competed in Philpop 2015 were "I Owe You My Heart" by MJ Morallos, "Nasaan" by Lara Maigue, "Tanging Pag-asa Ko" by Paul Armesin, "For The Rest Of My Life" by Ned Esguerra, "Triangulo" by Thyro Alfaro & Yumi Lacsamana, "Kilig" by Soc Villanueva, "Paratingin Mo Naman Siya" by Davey Langit, "Sa Ibang Mundo" by Mark Villar, "Musikaw" by Melchor Magno Jr., "Walang Hanggang" by Ramiro Mataro, "Edge Of The World" by Johannes Daniel Garcia, at "Apat Na Buwang Pasko" by Gino Cruz & Jeff Arcilla.

This songwriting competition is headed by PhilPop executive director Ryan Cayabyab and managing director Patricia Bermudez-Hizon.

Here are the winners of Philpop 2015:

People's Choice: Sa Ibang Mundo (interpreted by Nadine Lustre and Kean Cipriano)

Best Music Video: Edge of the World (interpreted by Yassi Pressman and Josh Padilla)

2nd Runner-up: "Sa Ibang Mundo" by Mark Villar

1st Runner-up: "Paratingin Mo Na Siya" by Davey Langit

Grand Winner: "Triangulo" by Thyro Alfaro & Yumi Lacsamana

All 12 finalists received P50,000 each.

The second runner up received P250000, the first runner up received P500000 while the grand prize winner gets the P1 million prize.

The winners also had the chance to bring home a beautiful trophy crafted by sculptor Randy Orlina.

Two People’s Choice Award comes with a P100,000 cash prize while the Best Music Video has a P100,000 cash prize.

(To watch lyric videos of the finalists, CLICK HERE)






Loading comments