2006 Golden Screen Awards


The 3rd Golden Screen Awards of the Entertainment Press Society, Inc. (Enpress) was held on October 26 at the PAGCOR Grand Theatre of the Airport Casino Filipino. Regal Films’ Blue Moon and Unitel Pictures’ La Visa Loca were the biggest winners that night.

Topnotch cinematic performances were honored in the third staging of the annual Entertainment Press Society (Enpress) Golden Screen Awards at the Pagcor Grand Theater of the Airport Casino Filipino in Parañaque City on October 26.

Ana Capri won Best Actress for Drama for her portrayal in Ala Verde Ala Pobre while Zsa Zsa Padilla took home the Best Actress-Musical/Comedy award for Mano Po 4: Ako Legal Wife.

Carlo Aquino, on the other hand, won Best Actor-Drama for Sa Aking Pagkagising Mula sa Kamulatan and Robin Padilla won Best Actor-Comedy/Musical for La Visa Loca.

Regal Films’ Blue Moon bagged the Best Picture-Drama plum, while Unitel Pictures’ La Visa Loca was heralded as the Best Picture-Musical/Comedy. Ang Daan Patungong Kalimugtong was named Best Picture in the independent film category.

Director Joel Lamangan and veteran actress Boots Anson-Roa won Best Director and Best Supporting Actress, respectively, for Blue Moon. The film also won Best Production Design (Joey Luna) and Best Musical Score (Von de Guzman).

Writer-director Mark Meily earned the Best Original Screenplay award for his work in La Visa Loca. The Best Supporting Actor trophy went to Soliman Cruz for Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros—the Filipino bet in the Best Foreign Film category in next year’s US Academy Awards.

Breakthrough Performances were awarded to Jaycee Parker for Ilusyon and Angelo Ilagan for Sarong Banggi.

Dubai, a big winner in other award-giving bodies, only won Best Original Song—“Ikaw Lamang,” written by Ogie Alcasid and performed by Gary Valenciano.

Other awardees include Odessy Flores (Best Cinematography, Ilusyon), Bob Macabenta (Best Sound, Ang Daan Patungong Kalimugtong), Dennis Marasigan (Best Screenplay-Adaptation, Sa North Diversion Road), Anil Rao (Best Editing, Ala Verde Ala Pobre) and Ignite Media (Best Visual Effects, Exodus).

The prestigious Lino Brocka Lifetime Achievement Award was handed to director/scriptwriter/producer Mario O’Hara for his extensive contribution in the Philippine movie industry.



Loading comments