Sarah Geronimo named Entertainer of the Year at the 23rd Aliw Awards


Some of the stars honored during the 23rd Aliw Awards are: (from left) Entertainer of the Year Sarah Geronimo, Ryan Agoncillo, and Best New Artist Jovit Baldivino. Ryan was elevated to the Hall of Fame for winning the Best Emcee (Male) award three years in a row. (CLICK HERE

Despite the heavy rains and howling winds brought by Typhoon Juan, the 23rd Aliw Awards pushed through last night, October 18, at the Manila Hotel Fiesta Pavilion.

The highest honor of the night, the Entertainer of the Year Award, was given to Sarah Geronimo. The Pop Princess, who graced the event wearing a Rajo Laurel creation, also won the Best Major Concert in the female category.

In her acceptance speech, Sarah said that she wants to dedicate this award to her idol Michael Jackson. "Sabi ko dati, magiging katulad ako ni Michael Jackson. Ambisyosa ko, 'no?" she said with a giggle.

The singer-actress performed a medley of heartfelt love songs and for her encore, she performed "Ikaw ang Pangarap."

HALL OF FAMER. Ryan Agoncillo was elevated to the Hall of Fame for winning the award for Best Emcee (Male) three times in a row. The host of GMA-7's Eat Bulaga! and TV5's Talentadong Pinoy won in 2007, 2008, and 2009.


"Salamat sa Aliw Awards Foundation. Buti umabot ako sa height requirement at age limit ng Aliw!" said Ryan, eliciting laughter from the crowd.

"It's always an honor to receive an award especially from a respected organization. I dedicate this award sa aking bunso, si Lucho; ang aking panganay na si Yohan; at ang asawa kong si Judy Ann Santos."

The husband of Juday revealed that their son, Juan Luis, whom they nicknamed Lucho, was born at 6.9 pounds and was measured at 52 centimeters long.

"Mahaba ang bata, e, salamat naman at nagmana kina Juday," quipped Ryan.

Did he cry when he saw his son for the first time?

Naiyak ako nung nakita yung bill sa hospital," he joked.

Aside from Ryan, the other past winners who were elevated to the Hall of Fame were Retrospect, the singing group that has won Best Group Performer in Hotels, Music Lounges and Bars; and The UP Concert Chorus, which was inducted in the Best Choral Group category.

The Aliw Awards Foundation also honored Tommy Abuel, Cecile Licad, Behn Cervantes, the Tiongco Brothers, the UST Singers and Ariel Ureta as recipients of Lifetime Achievement Awards. Pagcor's show titled Flow received a Special Concept Production Award while Special Awardees were Mon David, Gerry Matias, Virgin Labfest, scenographer Rolando de Leon, Club Mwah and the Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office.


BEST NEW ARTIST. Pilipinas Got Talent grand winner Jovit Baldivino performed "Faithfully" for the audience and later on, he was hailed as the Best New Artist.

PEP (Philippine Entertainment Portal) asked Jovit what investments he has made since he won ABS-CBN's talent search. He revealed that he is looking for property in Batangas so he can build a new home.

OTHER WINNERS. Richard Poon serenaded the crowd with his upbeat version of "Kahit Maputi na ang Buhok Ko." The ASAP XV mainstay won the Best Performance in a Concert (Male category).

The Buzz and SNN host Boy Abunda bagged the Best Emcee (Male) award while Miriam Quiambao was his female counterpart.

Gary Valenciano and Martin Nievera, who were both unable to attend the awards night, bagged the Best Collaboration for a Major Concert.

La Diva—composed of Jonalyn Viray, Aicelle Santos, and Maricris Garcia—rendered a special number.

The trio presented the award for Best Concert Stage Director to Louie Ignacio. Their mentor, Danny Tan, bagged the award for Best Musical Director. To cap off their winning streak, the Party Pilipinas mainstays also bagged the award for Best Performance in a Concert (Group category).


Ogie Alcasid's concert titled Live With The Idols (featuring American Idol Season 7 finalist Ramiele Malubay) won the Best Major Concert (Male).

PACMAN. For the first time, the Aliw Awards Foundation announced an International Achievement Award. This was given to Sarangani Rep. Manny Pacquiao for his triumphs in the boxing arena, which "reap laurels for the land of his birth."

Pacquiao was unable to accept the award since he is training in Baguio for his upcoming match with Antonio Margarito scheduled on November 13.

Also present during the event was Bembol Roco, who was named Best Actor for the Non-Musical category.

Serving as the hosts of the program were Issa Litton and Tim Yap.

The six-hour long program began at around 7 p.m. and ended well past midnight. The TV coverage of the awards night will be aired on Q Channel 11 on October 31 at 10 p.m.

Here is the list of winners of the 23rd Aliw Awards:


Best Child Performer: Mika Roi Torre (WCOPA winner)
Best New Artist: Jovit Baldivino
Best New Artist (Group): Juan Pablo Dream
Best Choral Group: UP Singing Ambassadors

Best Dance Company (Classical/Folk): Halili-Cruz Dance Company
Best Dance Company (Contemporary/Modern): Bungkos Palay

Best Cultural Group: QC Performing Arts Devt. Foundation (Quezon City)
Best Instrumentalist: Nonoy Libanan (Guitar)

Best Emcee (Female): Miriam Quiambao
Best Emcee (Male): Boy Abunda

Best Stand-Up Comedian (Male): Jon Santos
Best Stand-Up Comedian (Female): Beverly Salviejo

Best Classical Performer (Male): Arthur Espiritu
Best Classical Performer (Female): Camille Lopez Molina

Best Non-Musical Production: Madonna Brava ng Mindanao (Tanghalang Pilipino)
Best Musical Production: Baler sa Puso Ko (Angara Foundation)

Best Stage Director (Non-Musical): Gardy Labad (Ang Post Office)
Best Stage Director (Musical): Vince Tanada (Enzo)

Best Actor (Non-Musical): Bembol Roco (Balun Balunan, Bingi Bingihan)
Best Actor (Musical): Robert Sena (Juan Tamad at 5 Milyon Boto)
Best Actress (Non-Musical): Ana Abad Santos (Mary Stuart)
Best Actress (Musical): Liesl Batucan (Baler Sa Puso Ko)


Best Concert Stage Director: Louie Ignacio (La Diva)
Best Musical Director (Concert): Danny Tan (La Diva)

Best Performer in Hotels, Music Lounges, Bars (Female): Christine Love (Resort World, Manila)
Best Performer in Hotels, Music Lounges, Bars (Male): RJ Jacinto (Bistro JR)
Best Performer in Hotels, Music Lounges and Bars (Group): Route 70 (Merk's)

Best Performance in a Concert (Male): Richard Poon (A Night with Richard Poon)
Best Performance in a Concert (Female): Olivia (Colors of Jazz)
Best Performance in a Concert (Group): La Diva (La Diva)
Best Collaboration in a Concert: Jose Mari Chan and Claire dela Fuente (Simply Unforgettable)

Best Major Concert (Male): Ogie Alcasid (Ogie Live With the Idols)
Best Major Concert (Female): Sarah Geronimo (Record Breaker)
Best Collaboration for a Major Concert: Gary Valenciano and Martin Nievera (As 1)


Loading comments