Star Magic kicks off 19th anniversary on ASAP Rocks


"Liliwanag ang buong ASAP stage sa dami ng artistang makikita ninyo from Star Magic!" promised child actor Zaijian Jaranilla (not in photo) during the launch of Star Magic's first music video on ASAP Rocks last Sunday, June 26. This also signaled the 19th anniversary celebration of the ABS-CBN talent ward. Among the Star Magic talents who attended the event were (clockwise from top left) Piolo Pascu

ABS-CBN stars shone brightly on ASAP Rocks, jumpstarting their celebration of Star Magic's 19th anniversary last June 26.

One of its young actors, Zaijan Jaranilla, even declared during the show, "Liliwanag ang buong ASAP stage sa dami ng artistang makikita ninyo from Star Magic!"

True enough, in the middle of the program, Star Magic talents walked on stage, wearing limited edition Star Magic T-shirts.

The idea of putting up a stable of talents for ABS-CBN started with its former president and general manager Freddie Garcia and program director Johnny Manahan.

Thousands of aspiring actors, singers, and dancers tried their luck to become part of Star Magic, formerly known as the Talent Center. Now, ABS-CBN's talent ward has more than 300 talents.

Among those who appeared on ASAP were Piolo Pascual, John Lloyd, Diether Ocampo, Bea Alonzo, Angelica Panganiban, Coco Martin, Jake Cuenca, Shaina Magdayao, Gerald Anderson, Kim Chiu, Rayver Cruz, Zanjoe Marudo, and Pokwang.

Also filling a spot on stage were Sam Concepcion, Enchond Dee, Aaron Villaflor, Enrique Gil, Xian Lim, JM de Guzman, Martin del Rosario, Joseph Marco, Ejay Falco, Empress, Jessy Mendiola, and Erich Gonzales.

Other stars included Desiree del Valle, Kaye Abad, Nikki Valdes, Maricar Reyes, Melissa Ricks, sisters Megan Young and Lauren Young, Kathryn Bernardo, Julia Montes, Matt Evans, Matteo Guidicelli, Jason Abalos, Joem Bascon, Alex Castro, Jason Gainza, and its newest talents, siblings Raphe and Renz Fernandez.

Yeng Constantino and Vina Morales led the Star Magic talents in singing the theme song, "Ikaw ang Magic ng Buhay Ko," composed by Yeng. (CLICK HERE to read related article)

Joining them were Pinoy Dream Academy alumni Bugoy Drilon and Liezel Garcia, Pilipinas Got Talent first winner Jovit Baldivino, Nyoy Volante, Richard Poon, Guji Lorenzana, Nico Antonio, and Markki Stroem.

Star Power finalists K-La Rivera, Monica Sacay, Akiko Solon, and Krissel Valdez were also with the group singing the upbeat song.


After this segment, Star Magic showed off their talents in a music video as if they were auditioning to become part of ABS-CBN's talent ward.

The music video was shot by commercial and movie director Paul Soriano and is now being aired between programs of ABS-CBN. (CLICK HERE to read related article)





Loading comments