Significant numbers of Bubble Gang on its 20th anniversary

Bubble Gang's commemorative book titled IMBG: I AM BUBBLE GANG was launched in December 2015. The book is now available in leading bookstores nationwide for P450.

Most actors would say it's harder to make someone laugh than it is to make them cry.

Nevertheless, there's one show that has been doing it for decades??the country's funniest and longest-running gag show Bubble Gang.

For 20 years, GMA-7's gag show has made their audience all over the world laugh out loud with their comedy skits, character sketches, music video parodies, commercial spoofs, among many others.

The Kapuso station's award-winning comedy/gag show never fails to tickle their audience's funny bone since it started airing in October 20, 1995.

As part of their 20th year celebration, the Kapuso Network along with Summit Media published a commemorative book titled IMBG: I AM BUBBLE GANG in December 2015.

Here's a look back on the significant numbers that matter throughout their 20 years on television.

According to GMA's Senior Vice President for Entertainment TV Group Lilybeth G. Rasonable, the show has aired over 45,000 minutes.

As of January 1, the show has delivered a total of 1,008 episodes and has produced over 114 segments.

Through the years, Bubble Gang has been the home of 57 actors and actresses in total.

The original cast includes Michael V., Ogie Alcasid, Aiko Melendez, Eric Fructuoso, Susan Lozada, Assunta De Rossi, Jackie De Guzman, Wendell Ramos, and Antonio Aquitania.

Currently, the show has 24 regular cast members including Rufa Mae Quinto, Sam Pinto, Jackie Rice, Max Collins, Andrea Torres, Gwen Zamora, Chariz Solomon, Sef Cadayona, Betong Sumaya, Mikael Daez, Boy 2 Quizon, Paolo Contis, Jan Manual, RJ Padilla, Denise Barbacena, Arny Ross, Juancho Trivino, James Ronald "Moymoy" Obeso, Roadfil Obeso, and Brod Pete.

During the show's early days, Diego Llorico (who started as a production assistant) and Marissa "Mykah" Flores (who was Susan Lozada's personal assistant that time) were included as extras.

Michael V. and Antonio Aquitania are the two remaining original cast members who are still part of the show.


The show only had three jingles for its two decades on TV.

These are "Bubble Gang (Just Chew It!)" from 1995 to 1997, "Chew (The Bubble Gang Ye!)" from 1997 to 2002, and "Bubble Gang (Pwede!)" from 2003 to the present day.

Bubble Gang's highest-rated episode, according to AGB Nielsen Philippines, was aired in 1997 which peaked at 57.6% audience share in Mega Manila securing them the 10th spot on the market research firm's all-time highest-rated episodes.

Since then, the show's second highest-rated episode was in October 24, 2008, which peaked at 17.5% in Mega Manila ratings and 12.1% in NUTAM (National Urban Television Audience Measurement).

The show also had its share of controversies.

In September 2002, Bubble Gang had its first lawsuit, which was filed by former child actor L.A. Lopez, for creating the character of El Aye Lopez, which was patterned after him.

L.A. claimed the spoof caused him to be "emotionally bullied."

The former actor-performer also demanded P5 million for damages aside from a public apology of the show.

The court dismissed the case.

On a lighter note, Bubble Gang also gave birth to two spin-off movies based on their character sketches.

Michael V and Ogie Alcasid topbilled Yaya and Angelina: The Spoiled Brat Movie in 2009.

Ogie also played the title role in Boy Pick-Up The Movie in 2012.

Bubble Gang isn't just one of the Kapuso Network's longest-running programs but also, one of their most-awarded TV shows.

The comedy show has received over 50 recognitions from different award-giving bodies since its inception in 1995.

The show has been awarded 15 times by the Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) Star Awards for Television as the Best Gag Show.





Loading comments