Facebook will soon allow users to unsend message

IMAGE via FHM.com.ph

"Unsending" a message deletes a conversation in the inbox of both sender and receiver.


Sent something via Facebook Messenger that you regret saying? No worries!

Apparently, Facebook is testing a new feature—the "Unsend" button for Messenger.

This feature allows users to "unsend" messages from a conversation.

The feature was first discovered by Twitter user Jane Manchun Wong, who accessed a prototype of the "Unsend" button.

Look:

A Facebook spokesperson confirmed to TechCrunch that they are indeed testing the feature.

"Though we have nothing to announce today, we have previously confirmed that we intend to ship a feature like this and are still planning to do so," the Facebook representative said.

He added, "Facebook internally tests products and features before they ship to the public so we can ensure the quality of the experience."

It was also confirmed that the "Unsend" feature has a "time limit," which means users only have a certain amount of time after they send a message to "unsend" it.

The difference between "deleting" and "unsending" a message is that the former only removes a message from the sender's (or the one who deleted the message) inbox. That would mean, the receiver can still read it from their end.

Meanwhile, "unsending" a message deletes a conversation in the inbox of both sender and receiver.

This feature is a godsend for people who want to take back what they said or those that have accidentally shared something they shouldn't have.

However, it can also be abused by individuals who intentionally send hurtful things, confident that they can "unsend" it and leave no trace afterward.

This story originally appeared on FHM.com.ph.

* Minor edits have been made by the PEP.ph editors.


WE RECOMMEND


FROM THE SUMMIT MEDIA NETWORK


SPONSORED CONTENT


COMMENTS

Loading comments

THIS JUST IN