The Dawn launches commemorative album

by Wells Avante
Nov 10, 2006

The Dawn officially launched "Tulad ng Dati"—the band's 20th anniversary album—last November 8 at the SM Mall of Asia Premiere Theater. This commemorative album is also dedicated to their late drummer, Teddy Diaz, who was brutally murdered on August 21, 1988—during the height of the band's popularity. Incidentally, the tragedy happened right after the release of their second album, Stand With You.

In an interview with YES! Online during the CD launch, vocalist Jett Pangan describes the role of Teddy in the band: "He has the vision. He knew where we were headed. He was the catalyst."

The Dawn is now composed of Jett (lead vocals), Francis Reyes (guitars), Buddy Zabala (bass) and JB Leonor (drums). The colorful history of the band became the basis for the Cinemalaya 2006 Best Film Tulad ng Dati, starring Jett, Ping Medina and actress Agot Isidro as the lead characters.

When Teddy died, Noel Mendes a.k.a. Zorro temporarily replaced Teddy before they signed up Atsushi Masuura. Finally, Francis Reyes joined the group, the band's guitarist to this day.

Continue reading below ↓

After disbanding in 1995, Jett formed his own group, calling it the Jett Pangan group. In 2000, The Dawn was again formed and after a series of replacements, former Eraserheads member Buddy Zabala completed the lineup of the rock band.

Jett described The Dawn's latest member and former colleagues as well: "Buddy was the missing link. We had great musicians. We had Mon [Legaspi]. Carlos [Balcells], of course, one of the original members. Mon was great. He brought the rock element. Buddy, as a musician, as an arranger, everything. He was like the member we never had."

Lasting for twenty years in the music industry was not a walk in the park. Bassist Buddy Zabala commented: "Twenty years. Matagal yun. If you think about, it's also a very mean feat. Twenty years—that's four times the average life span ng isang banda. Five years, that's like a whole career."

Being a part of The Dawn was an honor for Buddy. He recalled: "When I was growing up, [one of the] few original OPM songs that I liked was "Enveloped Ideas." Tinutugtog ko ‘yon. It's a great honor, [and] also a thrill."

Continue reading below ↓

After the screening of Tulad ng Dati, The Dawn entertained the audience with a heartfelt performance of their hits and their own rendition of Apo Hiking Society's original composition "Bawat Bata."

The "Tulad ng Dati" commemorative album contains The Dawn's hit songs for the past 20 years plus three new songs: "Ang Iyong Paalam," "Difference," and "Kasama sa Tagumpay." Included in the album are hit tracks: "Alam Ko, Alam Niyo," "Babaeng Mahiwaga," "Love (Will Set us Free)," "Little Paradise," "Abot Kamay," "Beyond the Bend," "Iisang Bangka Tayo," "Salimpusa," "Dreams," "Talaga Naman," "Run Away," "Enveloped Ideas," "Salamat," and "I Stand With You."

The bonus VCD includes the trailer of their quasi-biographical movie Tulad ng Dati, Teddy's guitar solo, "Iisang Bangka,Harapin and Liwanag," their signature song "Tulad ng Dati," "Change," "Laging Narito," as well as acoustic versions of "Abot Kamay" and "Salamat."

Read Next
Read More Stories About
Jett Pangan
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results