Robin gets fourth acting plum at the 54th FAMAS Awards

Robin Padilla was named as Best Actor for the movie La Visa Loca in the recently concluded FAMAS Awards, making this his fourth triumph for 2006.

The action star was the only major winner who attended the awards night of the Film Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences held at the Main Hall of the National Broadcasting Network in Visayas Avenue, Quezon City last November 12.

Robin was previously named as Best Actor in Gawad Tanglaw, the Gawad Urian and the 3rd Golden Screen Awards. He bested Marvin Agustin, Ricky Davao, Aga Muhlach and Jericho Rosales for the Best Actor plum in the 54th FAMAS Awards.

What is interesting to note is that Regine Velasquez, Robin's leading lady in the movie Till I Met You, went up with him on stage to congratulate him and gave him a peck on the cheek.

In his acceptance speech, an overjoyed Robin told the crowd: "Matagal ko na pong hinintay na ako ay inyong mapansin." He added: "Teka, teka, Regine, napakaganda mo."

Of the 17 awards given away that night, nine were awarded to Star Cinema's Nasaan Ka Man. The movie bagged awards for Best Musical Scoring (Jesse Lasatin); Best Theme Song (Nasaan Ka Man by Christian Bautista); Best Supporting Actress (Hilda Koronel), Best Story and Best Screenplay (Ricky Lee and Rafael Hidalgo); Best Cinematography (Charlie Peralta); Best Director (Cholo Laurel); Best Actress (Claudine Barretto); and the Best Picture Award.

FAMAS did not only give recognition to outstanding films but also to individuals who made a difference in the entertainment scene. Aside from the major awards, the award-giving body also gave out special awards to outstanding individuals such as Regine Velasquez (Golden Artist Award), Armida Siguion-Reyna (LifetimeAchievement), Eddie Garcia (Fernando Poe, Jr. Memorial Award), Jennylyn Mercado and Mark Herras (German Moreno YouthAchievement Award), Veronica Samio (Dr. Jose R.Perez Memorial Award), Col. Apolonio Reyes (Atty. Flavio Macasio Memorial Award), Manila Bulletin represented by Emilio Yap III (FAMAS Grand Award), MMDA Chairman Bayani Fernando (FAMAS President's Award), and special citations for Pen Pen as new director-producer and Jed Madela for his musical excellence.


Before granting the German Moreno YouthAchievement Award to Jennylyn Mercado, Kuya Germs implored the audience: "Tulungan natin ang industriya. Bigyan ito ng pagpapahalaga." Jennylyn Mercado personally received the achievement award also in behalf of her StarStruck batchmate, Mark Herras.

The guests that evening were serenaded by Faith Cuneta with her rendition of "One in a Million" while FAMAS Special Awardee Jed Madela delivered a sterling performance for his song "The Impossible Dream."

FAMAS also recognized the support given by local government units, spurring the growth of the film industry. Quezon City councilor Ariel Inton, vice-mayor Herbert Bautista and mayor Sonny Belmonte were all given special citations for implementing the zero percent amusement tax ordinance in Quezon City.

Other winners who were not present during the event were BJ Forbes (Best Child Actor for Exodus) and Ella Guevarra (Best Child Actress for Birhen ng Manaoag).

Ricky Davao received the Best Editing Award in behalf of his movie Mga Pusang Gala. Enteng Kabisote 2 won Best Art Direction (Mitoy Sta. Maria) while Exodus won Best Visual Effects (Ignite Media Inc.).





Loading comments