Sugarfree releases 'Tala-Arawan'

Kaka Quisimbing (center) is the latest addition to the band Sugarfree, which already boasts of having Ebe Dancel (left) and Jal Taguibao (right)

Fans of Sugarfree will be happy to know that this rock band is back—not just with a new album but with a new drummer as well.

The band's latest album, Tala-Arawan, was formally launched last November 30, at Elbow Room, in Metrowalk, Pasig City. Sugarfree—composed of Ebe Dancel (vocalist), Jal Taguibao (bass) and the newcomer Kaka Quisimbing (drums)—is all set to top the charts again with its first single, "Kung Ayaw Mo Na Sa Akin," an original song written by the band's frontman.

With Tala-Arawan—Sugarfree's third album released under EMI Philippines—the group is able to relate its life as a band over the past seven years. This 12-track album aims to be a diary of rock songs. It also promises to be different from the band's first two albums—Sa Wakas (2003) and Dramachine (2004)—with the addition of Kaka Quisimbing, who replaces former drummer Mitch Singson.

The album includes songs that were mainly composed by Ebe, except for "Wari Ko'y," a song penned by drummer Kaka, bassist Jal and album producer Robin Rivera.


All songs are in Tagalog, with titles like: "Dear Kuya," "Huling Gabi," "Salamin," "Nangangawit," "Pasyal." There are also: "Ang Pinakamagaling na Tao sa Balat ng Lupa," "Reunion," "Wag Ka Nang Umiyak," "Ikaw Pala," and "Kailan Ba?"

The band's gig schedule is available at


Loading comments