MTRCB hands out its first TV Awards; Michael V and Bea Alonzo win acting trophies

(Top, from left) Ryan Agoncillo, Edu Manzano and Michael V; (bottom) Jessica Soho, Zaijian Jaranilla and Ces Drilon, were some of the winners in the 1st MTRCB TV Awards held last night, September 4, at Gateway Mall in Cubao, Quezon City.

The Movie and Television Review and Classification Board (MTRCB) turned glamorous last night, September 4, as it unveiled the 1st MTRCB TV Awards at Gateway Cinema 5, Araneta Center in Cubao, Quezon City.

But more than glitz and glamour, the affair was conceptualized by the government-created regulatory board to salute television programs that best embody the organization's standards as dictated by its vision and principles.

"Through this, we're hoping to encourage the networks to come up with shows and programs that are not just entertaining but with values as well—that's very important," MTRCB Chairperson Consoliza Laguardia told PEP (Philippine Entertainment Portal) in an interview.

The occasion was a star-studded affair, with celebrities and personalities from the fields of arts, literature and show business coming together to witness the MTRCB's maiden attempt at an awards spectacle.

WINNERS' EVENING. Showbiz and other prominent personalities spotted by PEP (Philippine Entertainment Portal) were Ms. Gloria Romero, Judy Ann Santos, Ryan Agoncillo, Marian Rivera, Dingdong Dantes, Michael V, Sunshine Dizon, Geoff Eigenmann, Ogie Alcasid, Charice Pempengco, Jennylyn Mercado, Rhian Ramos, Zaijian Jaranilla, Michelle Madrigal, Mark Herras, Jessica Soho, Ces Drilon, Julius Babao, Jessica Soho, Isabel Oli, Jojo Alejar, Valerie Concepcion, Jackie Aquino, Gladys Reyes, Bianca Gonzales, Pooh, among many others.

Some of the winning programs were ABS-CBN's Sineskwela (Best Educational Show), I Survived (Best Reality Show), and Kahit Isang Saglit (Best Teleserye); GMA-7's I Witness (Best Public Affairs Show), and Obra (Best Drama Special); QTV 11's Balitanghali (Best News Program) and TV5's Talentadong Pinoy (Best Talent Show), and Wow Mali (Best Comedy Show).


Special awards were given to Y Speak, Power to Unite, Born to Be Wild, Moments, and May Bukas Pa.

Actor-host Ryan Agoncillo was named the evening's Male Star of the Night, while actress-model Isabel Oli was recognized as his female counterpart.

Comedian Michael V was surprised when he won as Best Actor. "Sigurado ba kayo dito?" Bitoy (Michael V's nickname) asked with amusement upon receiving the trophy.

Turning serious, the comedian rationalized: "Siguro kasi, madalas nagiging notion na 'yong MTRCB daw ay kontrapelo ng comedy. Kasi madalas na nangyayari, parang kaming mga komedyante, we push the MTRCB towards the edge palagi when we touch on politics, sex, religion. We used that as a platform para ultimately makuha 'yong goal namin na makapagpatawa ng mga kababayan natin.

"And siguro nga, dahil nakikita ng MTRCB na 'yong foundation ng comedy is basically acting, kaya dahil diyan gusto kong pasalamatan ang MTRCB. You're such a winner!"

Bea Alonzo, on the other hand, won as Best Actress. The Kapamilya star was not able to accept her award in person, but a message video from her was shown.

Actor and game show host Edu Manzano was proclaimed Best Male Host, while respected broadcast journalist Jessica Soho took home the Best Female Host plum.

Seasoned actress Gloria Romero was given the Lifetime Achievement Award for her contribution to Philippine entertainment.

Edu and Jackie Aquino hosted the event, while performances by singer-songwriter Ogie Alcasid, late-night show host and MTRCB Board Member Jojo Alejar, standup comedian Pooh, and young Pinay international singing sensation Charice Pempengco, added more color to the festivity.






Loading comments