Early favorites triumph in Bb. Pilipinas 2010 Pre-Pageant Night

The 24 chosen Bb. Pilipinas 2010 candidates will compete for the Bb. Pilipinas-Universe, Bb. Pilipinas-World, and Bb. Pilipinas-International titles on March 6 at the Araneta Coliseum in Cubao, Quezon City.

The twenty-four chosen candidates of Bb. Pilpinas 2010 gave the public a sneak peek of what to expect on March 6—the Grand Coronation Night to be held at the Araneta Coliseum—as they took centerstage at the pre-pageant event held last Friday, February 26, at Studio 7 of the GMA Network Studios in Quezon City.

Officials representing the prestigious beauty contest explained earlier that conducting a pre-pageant show will significantly save time and effort come the actual coronation event, which in the past usually took four hours.

This year's candidates vying for the titles Bb. Pilipinas-World, Bb. Pilipinas-International and Bb. Pilipinas-Universe are: Mariella Castillo, Rachel Ann Bustamante, Patrixia Sheryl Santos, Selena Antonio, Yasmin Nicole Kauffman, Patricia Lae Ejercitado, Laurese Ann Caparas, Ana Marie Morelos, Laica Joy Jimenez, Maria Venus Raj, Krista Arrieta Kleiner, Reina Mae Maerina, Gwendoline Ruais, Mary Ann Ross Misa, Jam Charish Libatog, Toni Alyessa Hipolito, Rose Ann Aguilar, Helen Nicolette Henson, Kate Princess Alimurong, Marie Ysabelle Matubis, Czarina Catherine Gatbonton, Dianne Necio, Mhirra Hernandez, and Angelica Damian.

Hosting the special presentation were TV host Drew Arellano, singer Jay-R, and actress Rhian Ramos.

PARADE OF BEAUTIES. The competing candidates opened the pre-pageant affair wearing their best Filipiniana Terno. Popularized by former First Lady Imelda Marcos, local designers explained that a Terno should highlight femininity and nationalism as seen in the colors and designs used.

True enough, the gowns worn by the Bb. Pilipinas candidates highlighted national symbols and culture ranging from the most detailed to the simplest.

Candidate 10, Maria Venus Raj, took home the Best in Regional Terno award for her gown designed by Ariel Alvarez. The mentioned honor was removed from the special awards category years back but organizers decided to reinstate it this year to promote patriotism among the candidates and local designers.

Serving as judges were actress Claudine Barretto, GMA Network Senior Vice-president for Radio and president of RGMA Network Inc., Mike Enriquez; GMA Network Senior Vice-president for Entertainment TV Wilma Galvante; Sienna Olazo of the Araneta Group of Companies; and Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) 2008-09 Rookie of the Year awardee Gabe Norwood.


The candidates then showed off their whistle-bait figures as they walked the ramp one by one in their swimwear. Considered one of the most highly anticipated highlights of the competition, the swimsuit category gave the ladies the chance to flaunt their beauty queen curves.

The long gown category showed the candidates in their formal best. To give the ladies a breather and for the audience to appreciate the candidates further, Jay-R, along with good friend Kris Lawrence and American Idol Season 6 contender AJ Tablado, serenaded the beauties through their rendition of The Temptations standard "My Girl" and Chris Brown's "With You."

Krista Arrieta Kleiner (Candidate 11) won the Best Talent award, while Maria Venus Raj (Candidate 10) and Kate Princess Alimurong (Candidate 19) made history by sharing the Miss Friendship title.

Some of the names emerging as fan favorites to take home the top three titles include Maria Venus Raj, Gwendoline Ruais, Krista Kleiner, Toni Hipolito, Mary Ann Rose Misa, and Helen Nicolette Henson.

Awarding for Best in Swimsuit and Best in Evening Gown will be announced at the Grand Coronation Night. Another special award worth watching out for on the final night is for Miss Photogenic.

GMA-7 will broadcast the Bb. Pilipinas Grand Coronation Night on Saturday, March 6, with Dingdong Dantes and Carla Abellana hosting the celebrated annual beauty tilt.





Loading comments