Charo Santos Concio, Sarah Geronimo, Gerald Anderson and other ABS-CBN stars score major wins at 21st Golden Dove Awards

(From left) Ms. Charo Santos-Concio, Ted Failon, Gerald Anderson, and Sarah Geronimo.

The 21st Golden Dove Awards of the Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster ng Pilipinas (KBP) was held last night, April 26, at the Star Theater, Star City complex, Pasay City.

ABS-CBN executive Charo Santos-Concio and broadcaster Ted Failon were among the recipients of the highest honors given by the KBP.

The CEO and President of the Kapamilya Network fondly looked back at the days of her youth as she accepted the Lifetime Achievement Award. She quipped, "Ito pong award na ito ay patunay na nagkakaedad na ’ko."

She turned serious as she continued, "It is humbling to be part of the roster of the KBP Lifetime Achievement Awardees. I would like to thank Gabby Lopez and the hardworking men and women of ABS-CBN.

"Itong karangalan na ito ay nagbabalik-alaala sa akin bilang fan sa Calapan, Oriental Mindoro na nanonood ng mga pelikula at mga programa ng ABS-CBN.

"I just wanted to be a good storyteller like my father and my job allows me to be one."

For his part, Ted Failon also looked back at his humble beginnings as a driver/reporter. "Ako ay naiyak dahil sa mga lumang pictures," referring to the slideshow of his vintage photos taken during his long career.

He continued: "Forty years ng KBP this year at timing rin po dahil 30th year ko na sa broadcast. Very timely at very inspiring sa akin na galing sa maliit na istasyon sa probinsiya.

"Gusto ko lang noon na marinig ng nanay ko ang boses ko sa radyo. Ang tatay ko naman mas gusto na magtinda ako sa karinderia sa construction site.


"Sa 30 years ko sa broadcasting, 23 na taon na yun ay sa ABS-CBN... After 30 years, hindi ito simpleng ambisyon. Hindi lang ito fame, fortune and glory. Ito ay mission pala. Ang aking tinig at aking talento ay pahiram lang ng Diyos.

"Nais kong magpasalamat kay Gabby Lopez dahil siya ang nagpautang sa akin ng loan para sa first apartment ko dahil dati natutulog lang ako sa drivers’ quarters ng ABS-CBN."

Child star Xyriel Manabat was one of the Kapamilya celebrities who attended that night. She accepted the trophy for Wansapanataym, which won the Best TV Children’s Program.

Dyan Castillejo gave a speech when Sports Unlimited won for Best TV Sports Program. According to Dyan, her co-host Marc Nelson was unable to attend the awards night because he is covering the dragonboat competition in Boracay. As she ended her speech, she took a step backward and almost fell down because of the wooden steps onstage.

Cheryl Cosim of TV5 bagged the Best TV Newscaster Award. In her acceptance speech, she said, "This award gives great pride to my family and my network TV5. Binabahagi ko rin ito sa ABS-CBN—kung ano ako ngayon dahil rin sa inyo yun."

Sarah Geronimo personally accepted the award for Sarah G Live as Best TV Variety Program. In her acceptance speech, she admitted: "Hindi po naging madali ang pagbuo ng Sarah G Live. Makulay ang journey," she admitted, prompting her to pause as she was at a loss for words. "Personally, malaki ang natulong ng show na ito sa akin as a person and as a girl who is now a woman," she said with her trademark giggle.


Towards the end of the ceremony, Gerald Anderson emerged from the right side of stage and waited near the stage wings.

Sarah was seated at the left side of the venue so the two did not cross paths. As soon as Sarah received her award, she immediately left the venue.

After Sarah received her trophy, the winner of the Best Actor for Drama Program was announced. Gerald Anderson received the said honor for his now-defunct series, Budoy.

ABS-CBN emerged as the Best TV Station in the 21st Golden Dove Awards. Since 2003, GMA Network has not been a member of the Kapisanan ng Brodkaster ng Pilipinas (KBP), which hands out the said awards.

DZMM, the flagship AM station of ABS-CBN, bagged the trophy for Best AM Radio Station. The Best FM Radio Station award went to Monster Radio RX93.1.

G Tongi and Atom Araullo served as the hosts of the awards night.

Here is the list of winners of the 21st Golden Dove Awards:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Charo Santos-Concio
Ka Doroy Broadcaster of the Year Award: Ted Failon
Best Television Station: ABS-CBN
Best AM Radio Station: DZMM
Best FM Radio Station (Manila): Monster Radio RX93.1
Best FM Radio (provincial): Radyo Natin Network (Manila Broadcasting)


Best Actress for Drama Program: Janice de Belen (ABS-CBN)
Best Actor for Drama Program: Gerald Anderson (ABS-CBN)
Best Magazine Program Host: Korina Sanchez (ABS-CBN)
Best TV Newscaster: Cheryl Cosim (TV5)
Best TV Public Affairs Host: Anthony Taberna (ABS-CBN)
Best TV Public Service Program Host: Bernadette Sembrano, Salamat Dok (ABS-CBN)

Best Newscast: TV Patrol (ABS-CBN)
Best Public Affairs Program: Patrol Ng Pilipino (ABS-CBN)
Best Variety Program: Sarah G. Live (ABS-CBN)
Best Children’s Program: Wansapanatym (ABS-CBN)
Best Magazine Program: Rated K (ABS-CBN)
Best Drama Program: Maalaala Mo Kaya (ABS-CBN)
Best Science and Technology Program: Convergence (Net25)
Best Sports Program: Sports Unlimited (ABS-CBN)
Best TV Documentary: San Pedro Calungsod (ABS-CBN)
Best Television PSA: “Choose Philippines: Penumbra” (ABS-CBN)
Best TV Station Promotional Material: “Lumiliwanag Ang Mundo Sa Puso Ng Pasko”(ABS-CBN)


Best Public Affairs Program: Failon Ngayon (DZMM)
Best Comedy Program: Countdown Top 7 (RX93.1)
Best Sports Program: Sports Talk (DZMM)
Best Radio Newscaster: Julius Babao (DZMM)
Best Public Affairs Program Host: Karen Davila (DZMM)
Best Music Radio Jock: Tom Alvarez (RX93.1)
Best Radio Magazine Program Host: Winnie Cordero
Best Science & Technology Journalist: Louie Tabing (DZMM)
Best Radio Public Service Program Host: Luchi Cruz Valdes (ABC)






Loading comments