Kim Chiu and James Yap named Newsmakers of 2013 by PEP readers

Kapamilya star Kim Chiu and basketball superstar James Yap got the most number of votes in the Newsmaker of the Year category of the PEPsters’ Choice 2013, a component of THE PEP LIST 2013.

This year, (Philippine Entertainment Portal) is recognizing the industry’s influencers; those who are hot and well-liked; the brightest names in showbiz with THE PEP LIST 2013.

For the past six years, PEP has been the one-stop shop for anything showbiz, as attested by its monthly 50 million page views since it was launched in 2007.

“Our year-long goal is to come up with a LIST, which we hope will become the reliable showbiz meter,” says Editor-in-Chief Jo-Ann Maglipon.

THE PEP LIST will include the EDITORS’ CHOICE, the PEPSTERS’ CHOICE, and the AUDITED—the last two components are tabulated and verified by PEP’s official independent auditing partner firm, Punongbayan & Araullo Associates.

PEPSTERS’ CHOICE WINNERS. On March 27, the first batch of winners will be announced via a press conference to be held at Mango Tree Bistro, 7th Avenue, Bonifacio High Street Central, Bonifacio Global City, Taguig City.

From May 17, 2013 to February 28, 2014, fans had cast their votes every quarter.

Here’s the result after generating more than 18 million votes:

Kim Chiu and James Yap emerge as the 2013 Newsmakers of the Year.

Kapuso hunks Tom Rodriguez and Dennis Trillo or #TomDen, the lead stars of the recent TV hit My Husband’s Lover, are chosen as Celebrity Pair of the Year.

The TV Male and Female Star of the Year are Vic Sotto and Kim Chiu, respectively, while comedian and host Joey de Leon and Superstar Nora Aunor are dubbed as the Showbiz Treasures of the Year.

ABS-CBN’s Ina, Kapatid, Anak was voted Primetime Teleserye of the Year.

Elmo Magalona and Julie Anne San Jose also made it big this year by winning the Teen Stars of the Year Award.

The eight-year-old “Aling Maliit” Ryzza Mae Dizon and child actor Renz Valerio are the Female and Male Child Stars of the Year.


FAB Award winners are Xian Lim and Lovi Poe, Breakout Star of the Year is Tom Rodriguez, and OPM Artist of the Year is Daniel Padilla.

Come May 20, 2014, all winners for THE PEP LIST 2013 will be honored at the AWARDS NIGHT, co-presented by SM Parisian, at the Solaire Resort and Casino, the official venue partner of PEP.





Loading comments