Mutya ng Pilipinas 2016 Top 10

IMAGE Noel Orsal

The Mutya ng Pilipinas 2016 coronation pageant was hosted by Richard Gutierrez, Bela Padilla and Arci Muñoz who wore a gorgeous deep-red Francis Libiran.

The evening came and went, carried along by the energy of the audience who trooped to Resorts World Manila's Newport Performing Arts Theater for the Mutya ng Pilipinas 2016 Coronation Night amidst rains and traffic on July 30, 2016.

Loud chants, shouts, and cheers of candidate names, numbers, or regions from the faithful supporters could be heard as the 30 candidates went on stage for their one-by-one introductions in their Rocky Gathercole Atelier gowns. They looked resplendent and regal, proudly representing the regions they came from.

The strongest and most evident support could be heard and seen for candidates number 3 Cassandra Costales McDonald (Australia), number 5 Marah Munoz (Paranaque), number 13 Mayu Murakami (Japan), number 20 Jurice Encarnacion (Canada), number 26 Justin Mae San Jose (CALABARZON), and number 27 Marie Joyce Marfori (Mabalacat City).

Hosted by Richard Gutierrez, Bela Padilla, and Arci Munoz who wore a gorgeous deep-red Francis Libiran, it was indeed a night to remember.

As the girls came out in their Brazilipina bikinis, the official swimwear of Mutya ng Pilipinas 2016 (owned by model-TV personality Daiana Menezes), several more stood out as old favorites came out strong too.

Among the girls, number 10 Michelle Thorlund (California), number 12 Marielle Cartagena (Cebu), number 13 Mayu Murakami (Japan), number 25 Mary Therese Erna Gome (Tarlac), and number 26 Justin Mae San Jose (CALABARZON) rocked their swimwear, garnering appreciative cheers from the crowd as they walked across the stage.

DJ Tom Taus provided the upbeat house music that accompanied the girls during the fun walk on stage.

Mutya ng Pilipinas 2016 People's Choice Award went to number 7 Thalia Joyce Coronico (Davao City), with 45,500 votes. She received P10,000 cash and gift certificates from Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa Palawan.

After 10 nationwide screenings and 8 regional finals, 10 lovely ladies made it to the top 10, announced shortly after the candidates walked in their long gowns. Vocal group Acapellago provided their walk music as the ladies showed what it meant to be a bold, fierce and brave Pinay millenial.


The top 10 candidates announced in this order are: number 12 Marielle Cartagena (Cebu), number 1 Lynette Bradford (Melbourne), number 4 Jannie Loudette Alipo-on (Navotas City), number 28 Ganiel Akrishna Krishnan (Manila), number 30 Ashley Nicole Singh (Central Luzon), number 13 Mayu Murakami (Japan), number 2 Joanna Rose Tolledo (Caloocan), number 26 Justin Mae San Jose (CALABARZON), number 10 Michelle Thorlund (California), and number 21 Dianne Irish Joy Lacayanga (Paniqui, Tarlac).

Keep posted as we post the article with the winners and other details here.





Loading comments