Rachel Peters is Miss Universe-Philippines 2017

IMAGE Allan Sancon

Incoming Miss Universe-Philippines 2017 (Binibini No. 19) is crowned by 2016 Bb. Pilipinas-Universe Maxine Medina, during the Bb. Pilipinas pageant held last night, April 30, at the SMART Araneta Coliseum in Cubao, Quezon City. 

Six new beauty queens were crowned at the Binibining Pilipinas 2017 grand coronation night on Sunday, April 30, at the SMART Araneta Coliseum in Cubao, Quezon City.

Binibini No. 19 Rachel Peters was crowned Miss Universe-Philippines, while Binibini No. 15 Maria Angelica de Leon was hailed Bb. Pilipinas-International.

Rounding up the list of winning beauty queens are Binibini No. 22 Chanel Olive Thomas as Bb. Pilipinas-Supranational; Binibini No. 39 Elizabeth Clenci as Bb. Pilipinas-Grand International; Binibini No. 31 Katarina Rodriguez as Bb. Pilipinas Intercontinental; and Binibini No. 18 Nelda Ibe as Bb. Pilipinas Globe.

All six Filipina beauties will be representing the Philippines this year in the next round of international pageants.

Binibini No. 32 Charmaine Elima and Binibini No. 40 Kristel Guelos placed first runner-up and second runner-up, respectively.`

Binibini No. 20 Christagale Borja, Binibini No. 13 Sirene Sutton, Binibini No. 16 Larah Grace Lacap, Binibini No. 10 Jehza Haler, Binibini No. 17 Camille Manalo, Binibini No. 34 Gabriela Ortega, and Binibini No. 28 Juliana Kapeundl, who won the pageant’s first ever People’s Choice award, finished in Top 15

SPECIAL AWARDS For the evening’s special awards, this year’s competition marked the first time that fans were given the chance to vote for Best in National Costume and Miss Photogenic.

Below is the complete list of special awards for the evening:

Bb. Best in Swimsuit: Binibini No. 19 Rachel Peters

Bb. Best in Long Gown: Binibini No. 15 Maria Angelica de Leon

Best in National Costume: Binibini No. 22 Chanel Olive Thomas

Miss Photogenic: Binibini No. 19 Rachel Peters

Face of Binibini: Binibini No. 19 Rachel Peters

Miss Talent: Binibini No. 1 Dane Marasigan


Miss Friendship: Binibini No. 22 Chanel Olive Thomas

Binibining Cream Silk: Binibini No. 15 Maria Angelica de Leon

Manila Bulletin Reader's Choice: Binibini No. 20 Christagale Borja

Bb. Philippine Airlines: Binibini 31 Katarina Rodriguez

Jag Denim Queen: Binibini No. 19 Rachel Reters

HOSTS AND JUDGES. Former Miss Universe Pia Wurtzbach returned to the Binibining Pilipinas stage as one of the night’s hosts.

She hosted the event with Kapamilya actor Xian Lim.

Kapamilya actor Paulo Avelino, CNN Philippines news anchor Mitzi Borromeo, Brazilian ambassador Rodrigo Souza, COO of BPI Holdings Inc. Phil Reed, veteran news anchor Ted Failon, current head of ABS-CBN marketing Nandy Villar, former volleyball star-turned-Kapmilya host Gretchen Ho, European Union ambassador Franz Jessen, and PLDT-Smart Chief Revenue Officer and ePLDT President & CEO Eric Alberto comprised this year's board of judges.





Loading comments