Miss Puerto Rico is Miss Supranational 2018, PH bet with Top 10 finish

IMAGE @missuniverseof on Instagram

Twenty four-year-old Medical Technology student from Puerto Rico Valeria Latorre (right) is Miss Supranational 2018 winner. She receives the crown from past year's winner Miss South Korea Jenny Kim (left).

Miss Supranational 2018 crowned Miss Puerto Rico Valeria Latorre as its newest queen.

The 24-year-old Medical Technology student bested seventy-one other candidates from all over the world in the 10th Anniversary Show of Miss Supranational pageant.

Philippine bet Jehza Huelar’s bid to the Supranational crown was cut short when she failed to enter the semi-finals round.

The grand coronation took place on December 8 (Philippine time) in the majestic mountain resort of Krynica-Zdroj, Poland.

Winners are as follows:

Fourth runner-up Miss Mexico Diana Romera

Third runner-up Miss Indonesia Wilda Octaviana

Second runner-up Miss Poland Magdalena Bienkowska

First runner-up Miss USA Katrina Dimaranan

Miss Supranational 2018 Valeria Latorre

Top 25 candidates were Venezuela, Belarus, Russia, Mauritius, Netherlands, Puerto Rico, Ecuatorial Guinea, Philippines, Ukraine, Slovak Republic, USA, India, Australia, Mexico, Pakistan, Romania, Vietnam, Malaysia, Nigeria, Denmark, Indonesia, Colombia, Brazil, Poland, and Myanmar.

They were then trimmed down to Top 10, with USA, Romania, Puerto Rico, Brazil, Indonesia, Poland, Mexico, Vietnam, Philippines, and Venezuela completing the list.


Subsequently, Mexico, USA, Poland, Indonesia, and Puerto Rico advanced to the Top 5 of the competition wherein they were asked individual questions.

For the Best in National Costume, each judge were given the chance to choose their bet. Winners were Mexico, Russia, Korea, Vietnam, Guatemala, Laos, Indonesia, Panama, and Haiti.

Special awards were given to Miss USA and Miss Vietnam as Best in Swimsuit and Best in Evening Gown respectively.

Panel of judges include the nine Supranational queens: Miss Ukraine Oksana Moria (2009), Miss Panama Karina Pinilla (2010), Miss Poland Monika Lewczuk (2011),  Miss Belarus Ekaterina Buraya (2012), Miss Philippines Mutya Datul (2013), Miss India Asha Bhat (2014), Miss India Srinidhi Shetty (2016), and reigning Miss Korea Jenny Kim (2017).

Miss Supranational crown was quite elusive for the Philippines since we have only won one crown since it first started in 2009.


Loading comments