PMPC announces nominees for the 23rd Star Awards for Movies

by Roldan Castro
Mar 2, 2007
Maricel Soriano (left) and Judy Ann Santos are strong contenders for Best Actress in the 23rd Star Awards for Movies.

Inilabas na ang nominees for major categories para sa 23rd Star Awards for Movies ng Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC). Ang awards night, na ipo-produce ng Starview Productions, ay gaganapin sa March 23 sa UP Theater. Ang TV coverage naman nito ay ipalalabas sa IBC 13 on March 24, Saturday.

Ang magiging hosts ng Star Awards this year ay sina Aga Muhlach, Heart Evangelista, at Jericho Rosales, samantalang trivia host naman si Ryan Agoncillo. Si German "Kuya Germs" Moreno ang recepient ng Ulirang Artista Award.

Narito ang listahan ng nominees sa major categories:

Movie of the Year
Don't Give Up On Us (Star Cinema)
Kaleldo (Centerstage Productions)
Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo (Star Cinema)
Ligalig (CM Films)
Pacquiao The Movie (Star Cinema/FLT Films International)
You Are The One (Star Cinema)

Movie Director of the Year
Joyce Bernal (Don't Give Up On Us)
Jose Javier Reyes (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo)
Joel Lamangan (Pacquiao The Movie)
Brillante Mendoza (Kaleldo)
Cathy Molina-Garcia (You Are The One)
Cesar Montano (Ligalig)


Digital Movie of the Year
Batad sa Daang Palay (Philippine Center for Performing Arts)
Donsol (Bicycle Pictures)
Inang Yaya (Unitel Pictures)
Kubrador (MLR Films)
Rome and Juliet (I.O.U. One Productions)

Digital Movie Director of the Year
Adolfo Alix Jr. (Donsol)
Pablo Biglang-Awa and Veronica Velasco (Inang Yaya)
Benjie Garcia (Batad Sa Daang Palay)
Jeffrey Jeturian (Kubrador)
Connie Macatuno (Rome And Juliet)

Movie Actress of the Year
Nora Aunor (Care Home)
Andrea del Rosario (Rome and Juliet)
Gina Pareño (Kubrador)
Cherry Pie Picache (Kaleldo)
Judy Ann Santos (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo)
Maricel Soriano (Inang Yaya)

Movie Actor of the Year
Ryan Agoncillo (Kasal, Kasali Kasalo)
John Arcilla (Compound)
Cesar Montano (Ligalig)
Piolo Pascual (Don't Give Up On Us)
Jericho Rosales (Pacquiao The Movie)

Movie Supporting Actress of the Year
Pops Fernandez (Zsa Zsa Zaturnnah Ze Moveeh)
Liza Lorena (Inang Yaya)
Gina Pareño (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo)
Cherry Pie Picache (Twilight Dancers)
Jodi Sta. Maria (You Are the One)


Movie Supporting Actor of the Year
Chokoleit (Zsa Zsa Zaturnnah Ze Moveeh)
Johnny Delgado (Ligalig)
Allen Dizon (Twilight Dancers)
Jay Manalo (Pacquiao)
Ronaldo Valdez (Sukob)

Movie Child Performer of the Year
Nash Aguas (Shake, Rattle & Roll 8 "Yaya" episode)
Heidi Morata (Batad sa Daang Palay)
Eliza Pineda (D' Lucky Ones)
Tala Santos (Inang Yaya)
Erika Ureta (Inang Yaya)

New Movie Actress of the Year
Kim Chiu (First Day High)
Precious Lara Quigaman (Umaaraw, Umuulan)
Jackie Rice (Till I Met You)
Maja Salvador (Sukob)
Nene Tamayo (Shake, Rattle & Roll 8 "Yaya" episode)

New Movie Actor of the Year
Jason Abalos (First Day High)
Gerald Anderson (First Day High)
Christian Bautista (Mano Po 5)
Joseph Bitangcol (D' Lucky Ones)
Sid Lucero (Donsol)
Luis Manzano (All About Love)
Sam Milby (You Are The One)

Darling of the Press
Ogie Alcasid
Herbert Bautista
Christine Bersola-Babao
Toni Gonzaga
Luis Manzano
Diether Ocampo
Regine Velasquez

Read Next
Read More Stories About
Star Awards for Movies
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
Maricel Soriano (left) and Judy Ann Santos are strong contenders for Best Actress in the 23rd Star Awards for Movies.
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results